Fired! 'Vampire Diaries' Writer/Creator L.J. Smith Gets Booted Over Direction of New Stories

Fired! 'Vampire Diaries' Writer/Creator L.J. Smith Gets Booted Over Direction of New Stories To fans of "The Vampire Diaries," all we can say is "sorry - sometimes life…well it’s just not fair."

It seems that the rumors are true - L.J. Smith, the writer of all the novels on which the series is based, has officially been given the boot.

Smith was apparently hired by media conglomerate Harper Teen/Alloy back in the 90’s to write the original, obscenely popular books. When the company decided that they disagreed with the direction the new storyline from Smith was going, regardless of how much money she had made them, they opted to show her the door and replace her with a new (cheaper?) ghostwriter.

While fans of the series, the books and…well…common decency might call the publishers a bunch of ungrateful louts, or throw large metal objects, or at least jump on the boycott wagon with the new books, Smith has been nothing but classy about the whole ordeal, urging her fans to stay with the series and give the new books a chance.

Smith's last book will be the forthcoming "Midnight: Return," which is set to be released in March.

Smith wrote a nice letter to fans on her blog:

“First, I want to thank my readers for all their messages of support.  I’ve gotten far too many emails to answer, and I really appreciate the kindness and emotional sustenance you’ve given to me at this difficult time.

Second, if you’ve asked me a question about the future books or the endgame of The Vampire Diaries and I’ve been vague about what’s in store, I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize.  I really wasn’t  looking forward to the day when I would have to talk about this.

Third, and most importantly, I want to ask anyone who was thinking of it, not to boycott Harper’s or anyone.  It just doesn’t make sense.  Although I wanted and still want more than anything to be able to continue The Vampire Diaries series myself, there’s no point in not trying the new books.  (And remember, for fans of Bonnie and Damon, and strict Stefan and Elena fans, the immediate dynamics may be more to your liking.)  Besides which, Midnight, which is all mine, is coming out in March, and I believe there may be some of my writing in Phantom.

Thanks again to all the fans who have shown loving and loyal kindness to me.”

As Ron Burgundy might say, “Stay classy, L.J. Stay classy.”

Do you think "Vampire Diaries" will go downhill without L.J. Smith's involvement? Did she get treated fairly? Will you be boycotting the new books? Let us know what you think.

 
 
Share This Story:
 
Talk About This: