Watch Surface

The science fiction mystery series Surface recounts the tale of three people whose lives are altered by an unknown species which seems to inhabit the sea. Uncovering the origins behind these creatures leads them into contact with government agencies trying to keep the events secret. Laura Daughtery, who is played by Lake Bell, first comes into contact with the underwater creatures when diving in a submersible in the North Pacific Ocean. Carter Jenkins plays the role of Miles Barnett who discovers one of the species up close while wakeboarding at night off the coast of North Carolina. The third protagonist is Richard Connelly, played by Jay R. Ferguson, whose brother is dragged underwater in the Gulf of Mexico during a fishing trip.

Surface was produced and aired by NBC Universal Television and syndicated for the Sci-Fi Channel in the United States. It ran from the 19th of September in 2005 to the 6th of February in 2006 with a total of 15 episodes and one season. Cancellation of the show was announced by NBC on May 15, 2006. This left the story and all of its extended arcs incomplete.

At the onset of the story we find Laura Daughtery's research as an oceanographer being taken by a government agency after her contact with an unknown species. This leads her into direct conflict with Dr. Aleksander Cirko, who is a scientist originating from Serbia. Eventually, after the origins of the creatures are discovered by Dr. Cirko, he is murdered before any information can be made public. His research assistant, however, is able to provide the data he has collected to Daughtery. At this point, Richard Connelly and Laura Daughtery are already working together to resolve the mystery.

The 2006 coverage of the Winter Olympics forced the show into hiatus on November 28, 2005 after airing only 10 episodes. The remaining 5 episodes were then aired between January 2nd and February 6th, 2006. The series, originally titled Fathom, used the original name in promotion of the show even after it was updated to Surface.

1 Season, 15 Episodes - Canceled
September 19, 2005
Science Fiction, Action & Adventure
Watch Episodes

Surface Full Episode Guide

  • With a tsunami approaching the coast, the residents of Wilmington find themselves under a mandatory evacuation. Among the mass exodus of people leaving for safety, Miles and his family scramble to make it off the island.Meanwhile, Laura travels to North Carolina to find Rich, who has been arrested by military police at the mysterious laboratory. As employees hurriedly vacate the building, Rich is locked up in a cell and left to die.

  • Rich and Laura go to see Lee for answers, and Lee winds up learning more than he would have ever expected. Concerned about the escalating violence she sees in Rich, Laura decides to pack it in and return home to see her son.The townspeople grow increasingly fearful as Miles behaves more and more like Nim. After being attacked by a bully at school, Miles brutally retaliates, and an angry mob calls for him to be arrested.

  • Laura and Rich become fugitives and are being pursued by Lee and his legion of secret agents. While hiding out, Laura has a bizarre Internet exchange with a mysterious person who claims to have information about the origin of the creatures. Meanwhile, Miles and Caitlin go to a bonfire party at the beach and are stunned when two of her friends mysteriously disappear after a late-night swim. The next day the Coast Guard makes a grisly discovery.

Review Surface