Watch ThunderCats (2011)

Thundercats tells the story of a group of human-like cats, and their struggle against the evil Mumm-Raa, and his army of mutants, in this re-incarnation of the classic 1980's cartoon series. The series was created by Ethan Spaulding and Michael Jelenic as a fusion between American and Japanese animation styles.

The story comes across darker with new twists on the original storyline. This time around, the main character, Lion-O, a prince of the Kingdom of Thundera, leads a mismatched, yet resourceful band of cats to flee, after the city is overtaken by the lizard army led by Mumm-Raa and his generals, Slithe, a lizard, and Grune, a cat and traitor-general to Thundera. Lion-O takes his birthright, the legendary Sword of Omens, and his fellow Thundercats, on a journey across Third Earth, encountering a host of friends and enemies in search of a way to defeat Mumm-Raa.

Each of the characters in Thundercats, even side characters and villains, show up at different times and have altered back-stories. Lion-O, who is the prince and heir to the throne, (voiced by Will Friedle), is accompanied by Tigra, Cheetara, WilyKit, Wilykat, Snarf, and Panthro, (who shows up in later episodes). Tigra, is Lion-O's older brother and fellow prince. Cheetara, becomes a love interest of Tigra and Lion-O, and is one of Thundera's clerics/royal guards led by Jaga. Snarf cannot talk, and is Lion-O's pet, while WilyKit and WilyKat are orphans and pickpockets, who are searching for a fabled city of gold. Panthro is a lost general, that was betrayed by General Grune, and left for dead.

Other notable cameos and appearances include Monkian, Vultureman, Jackalman, Pumyra, and the Berbils. A cameo appearance is even made by Larry Kenney, the actor who originally voiced Lion-O in the original Thundercats. Kenney voices Lion-O's father, Claudius, who appears in the first two episodes.

Thundercats was released July 29, 2011 to air on Cartoon Network. It was produced by Warner Bros. Animation and Studio 4°C and was distributed by Cartoon Network.

Friday 8:00 PM et/pt on Cartoon Network
1 Season, 26 Episodes - Canceled/Ended
July 1, 2011
Animation & Cartoons, Children
Watch Episodes

ThunderCats (2011) Full Episode Guide

  • The book of Omens leads the Thundercats to a city in the sky ruled by birds!

  • After making it back to the City of Dogs, Panthro is wondering why the Book of Omens is pointing to the sky. Lion-O runs into Jorma who had survived the attack on Thundera and has made it home. Upon studying the book, Jorma concludes that one of the stones the ThunderCats are after is somewhere in the sky. While exploring a secret scrap pile where new scrap metal falls from the sky, Lion-O, Tygra, Panthro, and Jorma are attacked by Necromech robots which end up stealing the Book of Omens. Upon tracking the Necromech robots, Lion-O, Tygra, and Panthro discover that they work for the Soul Sever (an alien turned robot by the Necromechs) who plans to use the power of the Book of Omens in order to find vessels for the three spirits of his deceased family.

  • The Thundercats require the assistance of a snake oil salesman named Ponzie to defeat Mumm-ra’s latest monstrous form.

Most Popular ThunderCats (2011) Episodes

Review ThunderCats (2011)