Watch San Francisco 49ers

Founded:Established 1946
Stadium Name:Levi's Stadiumin

Despite the fact that significant change has occurred since the San Francisco 49ers last took the field, the team and their fans remain optimistic for the upcoming season. The first change came at the end of last season when former defensive line coach Jim Tomsula was named as the new 49er head coach. He replaced Jim Harbaugh who was then immediately hired by the University of Michigan.

During the offseason, the Niners lost numerous key players to retirement and free agency. Players like RB Frank Gore, DT Justin Smith, ILB Chris Borland, ILB Ray McDonald, and pass rusher Aldon Smith are all gone. In their place, San Francisco has signed free agents WR Torrey Smith, ILB Phillip Wheeler, and CB Shareece Wright. Management has also successfully signed the bulk of their 2015 draft picks, with DE Arik Armstead, S Jaquiski Tartt, and P Bradley Pinion expected to contribute right away.

Positive change has also occurred for 49er quarterback Colin Kaepernick. He spent six weeks of his offseason in Phoenix, Arizona, refining his passing techniques. He worked with quarterback guru Kurt Warner on such skills as taking shorter drops, making quicker throws, and staying in the pocket longer. In 2014, his interceptions to completions ratio slipped considerably, going from 21:8 in 2013 to 19:10 in 2014. The 49ers hope that his improved throwing skills, coupled with his natural athleticism, will lead him to consistently march the offense down the field and score.

49er ticket holders and fans have to hope that all of these changes are for the best as the team has a fairly difficult schedule ahead of them. They are in a tough division and must play two games against the Seattle Seahawks,last year's Super Bowl runner up.

Regular Season
See All NFL Games
Thursday Night Football. Live.
Watch with Prime
Sunday, January 8th, 2023
Sunday, January 1st, 2023
1:05 PM PT
Disclaimer. Brand names, logos and trademarks used herein remain the property of their respective owners.