Shania: A Life in Eight Albums

Watch Shania: A Life in Eight Albums

  • PG
  • 2005
  • 1 hr 30 min
  • 5.5  (196)

Shania: A Life in Eight Albums is a biopic movie that tells the story of Shania Twain, one of the most successful female country singers of all time. It was released in 2005 and starred Meredith Henderson as Shania, Shenae Grimes-Beech as young Shania, and Reva Timbers as Shania's mother. The movie follows the extraordinary journey of Eilleen Regina Edwards, a girl from a poor family in rural Canada, who dreams of becoming a famous singer. The story starts with Shania's early childhood, where she learned how to sing and play music with her mother and stepfather, who taught them music from an early age. The movie shows how Shania's early years were marked by hardship, including the death of her parents in a car accident, which left her and her siblings orphaned.

Despite the loss of her parents, Shania's irrevocable passion for music remained, and she worked hard to make her dream come true. Her journey to stardom was not an easy one though, and she had to face many obstacles, such as sexism in the music industry, financial struggles, and personal hardships.

Throughout the movie, we witness how Shania overcomes her challenges and becomes one of the most successful female artists of all time, selling over 100 million records worldwide. The title of the movie, A Life in Eight Albums, refers to the eight albums that Shania released throughout her career, which are shown as pivotal moments in her life.

The movie also delves into the personal life of Shania, including her marriage to music producer Mutt Lange, their collaboration that resulted in the highly successful album, 'Come on Over', and their eventual divorce after 15 years of marriage. The movie also depicts how Shania copes with the miscarriage of their child, which had a tremendous impact on her life and music.

The acting in the movie is excellent, with Meredith Henderson giving a brilliant performance as Shania Twain, shining in both the dramatic and musical sequences. Shenae Grimes-Beech also does an excellent job portraying a young Shania, capturing the essence of her personality, and Reva Timbers delivers a strong performance as Shania's mother.

The movie showcases some of Shania's most beloved songs, including 'Man! I Feel Like a Woman!', 'That Don't Impress Me Much', 'You're Still the One', and 'From This Moment On'. The musical performances in the movie are breathtaking, with outstanding choreography and visuals that give the audience a glimpse into Shania's flamboyant stage persona.

The movie's direction and cinematography are also noteworthy, with stunning landscapes and vivid imagery that capture the essence of Canada's rugged beauty. The filmmakers have taken great care to portray Shania's life accurately, and their attention to detail is admirable.

In conclusion, Shania: A Life in Eight Albums is an outstanding biography movie that tells the inspirational story of Shania Twain, a girl who rose from humble beginnings to become a world-renowned music icon. With great performances, breathtaking musical sequences, and stunning visuals, this movie is a must-watch for fans of Shania Twain and those who love inspiring tales of perseverance and determination.

Shania: A Life in Eight Albums is a 2005 drama with a runtime of 1 hour and 30 minutes. It has received moderate reviews from critics and viewers, who have given it an IMDb score of 5.5.

Shania: A Life in Eight Albums
Where to Watch Shania: A Life in Eight Albums
Shania: A Life in Eight Albums is available to watch free on The Roku Channel Free. It's also available to stream, download on demand at Amazon Prime. Some platforms allow you to rent Shania: A Life in Eight Albums for a limited time or purchase the movie and download it to your device.
  • Release Date
  • MPAA Rating
  • Runtime
    1 hr 30 min
  • IMDB Rating
    5.5  (196)