Being: Mike Tyson

Watch Being: Mike Tyson

  • 2013
  • 1 Season
  • 8.3  (226)

Being: Mike Tyson is a 30-minute documentary-style television show from Fox Sports that chronicles the life and career of boxing legend Mike Tyson. The show is hosted by Tyson himself and features interviews with those closest to him, including his family, friends, trainers, and opponents.

In each episode, Tyson takes viewers on a journey through his life, from his days as a young boy in Brooklyn to his rise to fame as the youngest heavyweight boxing champion in history. He talks candidly about his early struggles, including his involvement in street gangs, his time in juvenile detention, and his troubled relationship with his mother.

As the show progresses, Tyson delves deeper into his boxing career, discussing his most memorable fights, including his victories over Larry Holmes, Michael Spinks, and Frank Bruno. He also reflects on his infamous bout with Evander Holyfield, during which he famously bit off a piece of Holyfield's ear.

Interspersed with these interviews are archival footage and highlights from Tyson's fights, giving viewers a chance to see the champ in action. The show also explores Tyson's personal life, including his marriages, his children, and his struggles with addiction.

Throughout the series, Tyson's charisma and larger-than-life personality shine through, making the show entertaining and engaging for even those who aren't boxing fans. His honesty about his mistakes and flaws is refreshing, and his willingness to talk openly about his experiences is inspiring.

In one episode, for example, Tyson discusses the tragic deaths of his daughter and his mentor, Cus D'Amato. He opens up about his struggle to cope with their losses and speaks candidly about the role that drugs and alcohol played in his life during this difficult period.

Despite the show's focus on Tyson's boxing career, Being: Mike Tyson is ultimately a human story about redemption and resilience. It's about a man who rose from humble beginnings to become one of the greatest boxers of all time, only to fall from grace and then pick himself back up again. It's a story of triumph over adversity that will resonate with anyone who has ever struggled to overcome the obstacles in their own life.

Overall, Being: Mike Tyson is a well-produced and entertaining show that offers a unique perspective on one of the most fascinating figures in sports history. It's a must-watch for boxing fans and anyone who appreciates a good comeback story.

Being: Mike Tyson
Filter by Source
No sources available
Mike Tyson: I'm Just Mike
6. Mike Tyson: I'm Just Mike
October 22, 2013
With a little help from Jeff Ross, Mike tries his hand at stand-up comedy. He revisits his childhood neighborhood in Brooklyn, reflecting on how far he has come and where he is going.
Mike Tyson: On the Shoulders of Giants
5. Mike Tyson: On the Shoulders of Giants
October 15, 2013
Mike spends time with Muhammad Ali, stops by a training session with UFC fighter Johny Hendricks, and attends a UFC event with Dana White to discuss how Mike's legacy helped to lay the bridge between boxing and today's success of MMA.
Mike Tyson: Feeding the Fire
4. Mike Tyson: Feeding the Fire
October 8, 2013
Mike takes a trip down memory lane to where it all began - Cus D'Amato's boxing gym in Catskills. Afterwards, Mike visits and mentors some of the young boxers he will be working with as a boxing promoter.
Mike Tyson: The Corner Man
3. Mike Tyson: The Corner Man
October 1, 2013
In an attempt to become a better family man, Mike visits sports legend Jim Brown to discuss marriage, fidelity, and parenting. Mike shares personal shortcomings as a father and events that have shaped the man he is today.
Mike Tyson: Quiet Before the Storm
2. Mike Tyson: Quiet Before the Storm
September 24, 2013
Mike makes a visit to Indianapolis, where he served a 3-year prison sentence, to begin his journey in an attempt to leave behind the "Iron Mike" persona.
The Real Deal
1. The Real Deal
September 23, 2013
Mike visits his one-time rival Evander Holyfield to discuss the true nature of their relationship, their uniquely shared experiences, and watch Holyfield's son in his first amateur fight.
  • Premiere Date
    September 23, 2013
  • IMDB Rating
    8.3  (226)