Watch Monarchy

  • 2004
  • 4 Seasons
  • 8.1  (539)

Monarchy is a television series that aired on Channel 4 from 2004 to 2007. It is a documentary-style program that delves deep into the history of the British monarchy, exploring its lineage and dynasties, the pivotal moments and events that shaped it, and the people who have ruled over the country throughout the ages.

The show is presented by David Starkey, a renowned historian and academic, who guides viewers through each period of British history, providing expert insights and analysis. He is joined by Tony Cottrell, a historian and historical reenactor, who brings the past to life through his vivid and engaging reconstructions of key moments and events. The show also features the expertise of Gerard Hayling, a historian and author, who adds his own unique perspective and insights into the history of the monarchy.

Each episode of Monarchy focuses on a particular monarch or reign, beginning with the Anglo-Saxon period and continuing through to the present day. The show covers a vast range of topics, including the Norman Conquest, the Wars of the Roses, the Reformation, the English Civil War, the Glorious Revolution, and the reigns of famous figures such as Henry VIII, Elizabeth I, and Victoria.

One of the great strengths of Monarchy is its use of primary sources and archival material, including letters, diaries, and contemporary accounts, to provide a more intimate and nuanced understanding of the people and events it covers. This is combined with expert analysis and interpretation to create a compelling and informative narrative.

The show also makes use of reenactments and location filming to bring key moments of history to life, immersing viewers in the sights, sounds, and textures of the past. This is particularly effective in episodes covering the Tudor period, where the show captures the color and drama of court life, and the Georgian era, where it explores the decadence and excesses of high society.

Throughout the series, Monarchy maintains a balance between historical fact and popular interpretation, acknowledging the ways in which myths, legends, and popular culture have shaped our understanding of the monarchy. This is particularly evident in episodes covering figures such as Richard III and Henry VIII, where the show disentangles fact from fiction and explores the ways in which these monarchs have been portrayed in popular culture.

Overall, Monarchy is a rich and engaging series that provides a fascinating insight into the history of the British monarchy. It is presented with intelligence, wit, and style, making it a must-watch for anyone with an interest in history, the royal family, or simply the human drama of power, politics, and passion.

Monarchy is a series that is currently running and has 4 seasons (18 episodes). The series first aired on October 18, 2004.

Filter by Source

Episode 1
1. Episode 1
Dr David Starkey presents the epic story of our monarchy, beginning with a special on the House of Windsor and its emergence as a 'family monarchy'
Where to Watch Monarchy
Monarchy is available for streaming on the Channel 4 website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Monarchy on demand at Amazon Prime.
  • Premiere Date
    October 18, 2004
  • IMDB Rating
    8.1  (539)