The Oslo Killing

Watch The Oslo Killing

  • 2019
  • 1 Season
  • 7.5  (163)

The Oslo Killing is a true crime series that dives deep into one of Norway's most infamous unsolved murder cases. The show follows Enrique Iranzo, a Spanish journalist who has been investigating the case for over three decades. Iranzo was a young reporter working in Oslo when he was sent to cover the murder of a young woman named Therese Johannessen in 1995. He soon became obsessed with the case and has been following every lead ever since.

The show takes us through the investigation from the beginning, starting with the murder itself. Johannessen was a 21-year-old woman who worked in a clothing store in Oslo. She disappeared on July 3, 1995, and her body was found a week later in a forest outside of the city. She had been tied up, sexually assaulted, and strangled.

The police quickly identified a suspect, a man named Fritz Moen, who had previously been convicted of two other murders. Moen initially confessed to Johannessen's murder, but he later recanted his confession, saying that the police had coerced him into confessing. Iranzo was skeptical of Moen's confession from the beginning and began to investigate the case independently.

The Oslo Killing goes into great detail about the many inconsistencies in the case against Moen. There were no fingerprints or DNA evidence linking him to the crime, and there were numerous eyewitnesses who placed him in different locations at the time of the murder. Despite this, Moen was convicted of Johannessen's murder and spent close to 20 years in prison before he died in 2005.

The show also explores other possible suspects in the case, including a man who was seen in the area around the time of the murder and an ex-boyfriend of Johannessen's who had a history of violence. Iranzo and his team interview numerous witnesses and experts in an effort to piece together what happened to Johannessen and who was responsible for her murder.

Throughout the show, Iranzo is shown working tirelessly to uncover the truth behind Johannessen's murder. He travels to different parts of Norway and even to Germany, where Moen had lived for a time, to speak with people who may have information about the case. He also uncovers disturbing information about the Norwegian justice system, including allegations of police misconduct and a general lack of transparency.

The Oslo Killing is a gripping and suspenseful series that will keep viewers on the edge of their seats. The show does a great job of presenting the facts of the case in a clear and concise manner, while also exploring the emotional toll that the investigation has had on Iranzo and others involved. The series is a must-watch for true crime fans and anyone interested in the pursuit of justice.

The Oslo Killing is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (6 episodes). The series first aired on March 13, 2019.

The Oslo Killing
Filter by Source

Do you have Hulu?
What are you waiting for?
Nice! Browse Hulu with Yidio.
Ad Info - This show may not be available on Hulu
Episode 6
6. Episode 6
April 17, 2019
Maria is on her way to England, where the laboratory will reveal what they have uncovered after examining the crime scene evidence.
Episode 5
5. Episode 5
April 10, 2019
Maria and her family ask the police to hand the evidence over to them so they can have it tested for DNA, and a laboratory is preparing for the receival of the material.
Episode 4
4. Episode 4
April 3, 2019
Maria discovers a confession letter in the National Archives and looks into the mystery of the jacket that turned up in the evidence box.
Episode 3
3. Episode 3
March 27, 2019
The contents of the evidence box is revealed, and cracks appear on the theory the police have presented about what happened to Anni Nielsen Iranzo.
Episode 2
2. Episode 2
March 20, 2019
Bloody clothes are found outside Oslo. Maria receives some surprising news from the Oslo police.
Episode 1
1. Episode 1
March 13, 2019
Maria travels back to Norway for the first time since 1974 to find the truth about what happened to her mother.
Where to Watch The Oslo Killing
The Oslo Killing is available for streaming on the Sundance Now website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch The Oslo Killing on demand at Google Play and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    March 13, 2019
  • IMDB Rating
    7.5  (163)