BCS Bowl Championship Series

Add to Watchlist

The BCS Bowl Championship Series (BCS) was an agreement by six major college football conferences and four bowl games, the Sugar Bowl, the Fiesta Bowl, the Rose Bowl, and the Orange Bowl. A computerized system seeded ten teams into four bowl games and one national championship game. The ten teams were the six major conference winners and four random teams. A series of computers determined the rankings of the teams and other special rules governed the participation of the four random teams. University politics and bowl money and television viewership all played a role in the BCS Bowl Championship Series. Prior to the BCS, two undefeated teams would occasionally not play in a national championship game due to exclusive contracts between the conferences and the bowl games.

The BCS system was controversial, but it solved a problem of two undefeated teams not playing in a national championship game. There were some good football games in the series.

2014 Seasons, 42 Episodes
BCS Bowl Championship Series

BCS Bowl Championship Series Full Episode Guide

  • The epic battle between #21 Texas A&M and #24 Duke featured more than an incredible Johnny Manziel-led comeback and 52-48 win for the Aggies.

  • In his last game as a South Carolina Gamecock, QB Connor Shaw didn't disappoint. The senior threw for 312 yards and three touchdowns as the Gamecocks defeated the Wisconsin Badgers 34-24 in front of 56,629 at the Citrus Bowl on New Year's Day.

  • In what was one of the craziest finishes in New Mexico Bowl history, Colorado State takes the win by scoring 18 points in the last three minutes.

  • For all Jameis Winston had accomplished as a redshirt freshman for Florida State, he never had to pull the Seminoles from the brink of defeat. In the biggest game of the season, down by four with 79 seconds left, the Heisman Trophy winner put together the drive of his life, and the Seminoles proved they could take a punch and win a championship.

  • Clemson star quarterback Tajd Boyd closed out his stellar college football career at the 2014 FedEx Orange Bowl against Ohio State in Miami.

  • Alabama star quarterback AJ McCarron closed out his stellar college football career at the 2014 Allstate Sugar Bowl against Oklahoma in New Orleans.

  • The 2014 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl is a big-play party as two of the best offenses in the land battle in Glendale, Arizona. Central Florida and Baylor look to set the record for most points scored in a Fiesta Bowl game.

  • Head Coach David Shaw and the Stanford Cardinal battle the feisty Michigan State Spartans in the 100th Rose Bowl Game.

  • Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston became the youngest player ever to win the Heisman Trophy, running away with the vote to take the prestigious award. He is also the second straight freshman to win the biggest award in college football.

  • Jameis Winston and Florida State take on Nick Marshall and Auburn in the VIZIO BCS National Championship Game. FSU makes its fourth BCS Championship appearance while Auburn is making its second.

  • Vizio BCS National Championship Game: #1 Florida State Seminoles (13-0) vs. #2 Auburn Tigers (12-1) at the Rose Bowl Stadium in Pasadena, CA.

  • The 2013 BCS bowls featured an all-time blueblood matchup, a clash of styles and an unlikely party crasher.

  • Florida missed out on playing for the national title because of its loss to Georgia, but still could finish in the top three in the nation with a convincing victory. Louisville is making its first appearance in the Sugar Bowl and second in a BCS bowl, and could provide head coach Charlie Strong with a significant boost in recruiting momentum by upsetting the Gators of the Southeastern Conference.

  • Kansas State makes its first BCS appearance since 2003 as the Wildcats take on Oregon in the 2013 Tostitos Fiesta Bowl. Oregon coach Chip Kelly becomes the first coach to reach a BCS game in each of his first four seasons.

  • The Mid-American Conference Champion Northern Illinois University football team meets the ACC Champion Florida State Seminoles in the 2013 Discover Orange Bowl at Sun Life Stadium in Miami, Florida. The Discover Orange Bowl game marks the first ever meeting between Florida State and NIU.

  • Stanford can close out its Pac-12 championship season with its first victory in the Rose Bowl since 1972, while Wisconsin has a chance for its first win in three straight trips to the Granddaddy of Them All. The Badgers will be led by athletic director Barry Alvarez, who picked up his coaching whistle for one more game after Bret Bielema left for Arkansas.

BCS Bowl Championship Series News

BCS Reaches Consensus Supporting Playoff

The door has finally been opened: an initial four-team college football playoff format has been supported by BCS commissioners and Notre Dame's Jack Swarbick. The proposed playoff would begin in 2014, with the four-team field selected based on schedule strength and conference championships. However, it still faces the final hurdle of the BCS presidential oversight committee's vote on June 26 in Washington, D.C.

Full College Football Bowl Schedule 2011-2012: Air Dates and Channels

It's that time of year again: time to scream at your TV while everyone else is trying to enjoy a peaceful holiday because your coach decided to try to throw on 4th and 1. That's right, it's Bowl Season! The BCS selections have been made and the college football bowl schedule is set. Check out the entire schedule here.