Grimm's Fairy Tale Classics

Watch Grimm's Fairy Tale Classics

  • 1989
  • 1 Season
  • 8.5  (406)

'Grimm's Fairy Tale Classics' is a Japanese anime television series that ran from 1987 to 1989. The show is produced by Nippon Animation and directed by Hiroshi Sasagawa. Discotek Media has released the series on DVD in North America with English subtitles. The series is based on the classic fairy tales collected by the Grimm Brothers. Each episode is a retelling of a different fairy tale, such as 'Cinderella,' 'Sleeping Beauty,' and 'Snow White.' However, the show's creators have added their own twists to the stories to make them more interesting and entertaining.

The series follows the adventures of a young boy named Jacob Grimm, who travels through a mystical forest with his younger sister, Wilhelm, and his trusty wolf companion, Basso. In each episode, Jacob and his companions encounter a new fairy tale character and have to help them overcome some sort of challenge.

One of the most notable aspects of the show is its animation style. The series features a unique blend of traditional anime-style animation with more traditional western-style animation. The character designs are also heavily influenced by the original Grimm Brothers illustrations, which gives the show a classic and nostalgic feel.

Another notable aspect of the show is its voice cast. Theodore Lehmann provides the voice for Jacob Grimm, and he gives the character a sense of wonder and excitement that perfectly fits the tone of the show. Other notable performers include Dan Green, who provides the voice for Basso, and Wendee Lee, who provides the voice for Wilhelm.

Despite being a children's show, 'Grimm's Fairy Tale Classics' deals with some surprisingly mature themes. Many of the stories deal with issues like love, betrayal, and loss, and the show doesn't shy away from showing the darker aspects of these stories. However, the show always manages to balance these darker elements with a sense of whimsy and humor.

Overall, 'Grimm's Fairy Tale Classics' is a classic children's show that has stood the test of time. The combination of classic fairy tales with an engaging cast of characters and a unique animation style makes the show a must-watch for fans of animation and children's entertainment.

Grimm's Fairy Tale Classics is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (18 episodes). The series first aired on January 7, 1989.

Grimm's Fairy Tale Classics
Filter by Source

Do you have Hulu?
What are you waiting for?
Nice! Browse Hulu with Yidio.
Ad Info - This show may not be available on Hulu
18. Cinderella
May 6, 1989
Cinderella wants to go to the palace ball, but is treated poorly and has nothing to wear.
The Worn-Out Dancing Shoes
17. The Worn-Out Dancing Shoes
April 29, 1989
A young soldier investigates when three princesses are mysteriously as worn out as their shoes every morning.
The Naughty Spirit
16. The Naughty Spirit
April 22, 1989
Never broadcast in North America! Three military deserters must outwit a demon in Hell to get another chance at life.
King Grizzle Beard
15. King Grizzle Beard
April 15, 1989
A selfish princess learns her lesson when her father makes her marry a poor minstrel... or is he?
Old Sultan
14. Old Sultan
April 8, 1989
When an elderly farm dog is about to be put down by his master, he goes to see his old rival, a wolf, for advice.
Briar Rose
13. Briar Rose
April 1, 1989
A witch curses a beautiful princess to fall asleep for 100 years, but can a young prince save her after that?
Jorinde and Joringel
12. Jorinde and Joringel
March 24, 1989
When a witch turns a boy's girlfriend into a bird, he wants to save her, but struggles with fear.
11. Bluebeard
March 18, 1989
Never broadcast in North America! A woman marries a wealthy man, whose one rule is not to enter a particular room in the mansion.
The Water of Life
10. The Water of Life
March 11, 1989
A good son goes on a journey to find the Water of Life that will cure his dying father, the king, but his evil brother has other plans.
The Six Who Went Far in the World
9. The Six Who Went Far in the World
March 4, 1989
Six men with amazing abilities come together to fight a corrupt king and princess.
Snow White
8. Snow White
February 25, 1989
Snow White escapes from her the castle when her jealous stepmother, the wicked queen, plots to have her killed.
Snow-White and Rose-Red
7. Snow-White and Rose-Red
February 18, 1989
Two sisters help an intelligent bear fend off the attacks of an evil gnome.
Puss in Boots
6. Puss in Boots
February 11, 1989
A youngest son only inherits a cat when his father dies, but he quickly realizes that the clever cat is worth his weight in gold.
The Golden Goose
5. The Golden Goose
February 4, 1989
A kind simpleton is given a magical golden goose, but it brings out greed in everyone around him.
Little Red Riding Hood
4. Little Red Riding Hood
January 28, 1989
A girl tries to deliver treats to her ailing grandmother, but encounters a devious wolf along the way.
The Frog Prince
3. The Frog Prince
January 21, 1989
A prince who was turned into a frog falls for a beautiful but selfish princess.
Hansel and Gretel
2. Hansel and Gretel
January 14, 1989
A brother and sister become the captives of a hungry witch with a candy house.
Town Musicians of Bremen
1. Town Musicians of Bremen
January 7, 1989
Four aging domestic animals set out on a quest to become a musical group.
Where to Watch Grimm's Fairy Tale Classics
Grimm's Fairy Tale Classics is available for streaming on the Discotek Media website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Grimm's Fairy Tale Classics on demand at Amazon Prime and Amazon.
  • Premiere Date
    January 7, 1989
  • IMDB Rating
    8.5  (406)