Never Have I Ever

Watch Never Have I Ever

  • TV-14
  • 2020
  • 4 Seasons
  • 7.8  (79,340)

Never Have I Ever is a coming-of-age comedy series created by Mindy Kaling and Lang Fisher that follows the life of a high school sophomore named Devi Vishwakumar. Devi, portrayed by Maitreyi Ramakrishnan, is an Indian-American girl who lives in Sherman Oaks, California with her mother, Nalini (Poorna Jagannathan), and her cousin, Kamala (Richa Moorjani).

The show centers around Devi's attempts to navigate the challenges of high school while also dealing with the recent loss of her father. Devi is determined to become popular, get a boyfriend, and throw a successful party, but her plans often backfire and lead to embarrassing moments. To make matters worse, she is dealing with grief and the complicated relationships with her family and friends.

Darren Barnet plays Paxton Hall-Yoshida, a popular and attractive guy at school who becomes the object of Devi's affection. However, Devi is forced to navigate the difficulties of her love triangle when Ben Gross (Jaren Lewison), a nerdy classmate, also seems interested in her.

One of the most notable features of Never Have I Ever is its representation of the Indian-American experience. The show is based on the experiences of Mindy Kaling and draws from her own childhood growing up in a predominantly white neighborhood. It explores the cultural clash between the immigrant parents and their Americanized children while also breaking down stereotypes and prejudices towards Indian-Americans.

Throughout the series, Devi's relationship with her mother is a constant source of tension, as Nalini is highly critical of her daughter's behavior and often restricts her freedom. However, as the series progresses, they begin to understand and respect each other's perspectives.

Never Have I Ever is a heartwarming and relatable series that explores the challenges of growing up in today's world. It touches on themes such as grief, identity, friendship, and family relationships, and does so with humor and sensitivity. The show has received positive reviews from audiences and critics alike, with praise for its witty writing and talented cast.

In conclusion, Never Have I Ever is a must-watch series that offers a fresh and authentic take on the coming-of-age genre. It is a testament to the power of diversity and representation in media and is sure to resonate with viewers of all ages and backgrounds.

Never Have I Ever is a series that is currently running and has 4 seasons (40 episodes). The series first aired on April 27, 2020.

Never Have I Ever
Filter by Source

...said goodbye
10. ...said goodbye
June 8, 2023
The last weekend of summer coincides with a festive occasion — and on the brink of their new lives, Devi, her family and friends have lots to celebrate.
...gone to prom
9. ...gone to prom
June 8, 2023
After a major setback, Devi feels the burden of telling a lie and must dig deep for a second chance. On prom night, the friends share their truths.
...set my mom up
8. ...set my mom up
June 8, 2023
Unsure about her own love life, Devi focuses on Nalini's — but it will mean befriending an enemy. Pati's birthday ends on a high note no one sees coming.
...had an identity crisis
7. ...had an identity crisis
June 8, 2023
As Paxton struggles to let go of his past as the king of high school, he seizes a chance to thrive as a swim coach and finds closure with an old flame.
...had my dream stolen
6. ...had my dream stolen
June 8, 2023
With early college admissions rolling in, Devi's in for more than one surprise. Kamala warns a smitten Pati about Len. Ben overhears a hurtful comment.
...been to New Jersey
5. ...been to New Jersey
June 8, 2023
On a school trip to New York, Devi discovers that college may be scarier than she thought, Eleanor faces disappointment and Fabiola remains tight-lipped.
...wrecked my future
4. ...wrecked my future
June 8, 2023
At a college fair, Devi juggles her love life with her academic ambitions, Fabiola ponders a tricky decision and an unlikely ally comes to Ben's rescue.
...liked a bad boy
3. ...liked a bad boy
June 8, 2023
As senior year continues to spiral, Devi's resolve to avoid Ethan weakens. Paxton returns to a comforting place. Nalini tackles termite issues.
...gotten sweet revenge
2. ...gotten sweet revenge
June 8, 2023
Bent on exposing who vandalized her car, Devi makes a bold accusation. Fabiola shakes up the robotics club's culture. Pati hides a secret from the family.
...lost my virginity
1. ...lost my virginity
June 8, 2023
An awkward end to an intimate moment has Devi fuming all summer. As senior year begins, the crew has college — and complicated feelings — on the brain.
Where to Watch Never Have I Ever
Never Have I Ever is available for streaming on the Netflix website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Never Have I Ever on demand at Netflix.
  • Premiere Date
    April 27, 2020
  • IMDB Rating
    7.8  (79,340)