Surviving 9/11

Watch Surviving 9/11

  • 2011
  • 1 Season
  • 8.0  (383)

Surviving 9/11 is a gripping and emotional documentary series from National Geographic Channel that chronicles the experiences of individuals who lived through the devastating events of September 11, 2001. The series is narrated by veteran journalist N.J. Burkett, who covered the attacks on the World Trade Center for ABC News, and features interviews with survivors, family members of those who lost their lives, and first responders who risked everything to save others.

The series is divided into three episodes, each focusing on a different aspect of the 9/11 attacks. The first episode, "The Day That Changed the World," provides a detailed account of the events of September 11, from the hijackings of the planes to the collapse of the Twin Towers. Viewers are taken through the confusion and chaos of the day, seeing firsthand what it was like for those who were on the ground in New York City.

The second episode, "Into the Fire," focuses on the firefighters who responded to the World Trade Center on 9/11. Viewers hear from survivors who were rescued by firefighters, as well as from the families of firefighters who lost their lives while trying to save others. The episode also explores the impact that 9/11 had on the New York City Fire Department and the changes that have been made in the years since to try to prevent another tragedy.

The final episode, "In the Shadows of the Towers," tells the stories of individuals who were not in the World Trade Center on 9/11 but who still felt the effects of the attacks. This includes the family members of those who died in the towers, as well as residents of Lower Manhattan who were forced to evacuate their homes and businesses. The episode also explores the impact that 9/11 had on the nation as a whole, including the changes that were made to national security and the ongoing conflicts in the Middle East.

Throughout the series, Surviving 9/11 weaves together personal stories of loss and survival with archival footage and photos from the day. Viewers are given a glimpse into the bravery and selflessness of those who risked their lives to save others, as well as into the pain and grief experienced by those who lost loved ones. The series also highlights the resilience of the human spirit and the way that people come together in times of crisis.

In addition to the interviews with survivors and family members, Surviving 9/11 features commentary from experts in fields such as national security, psychology, and trauma. This adds an additional layer of analysis to the series and helps to contextualize the events of September 11 within a broader historical and societal perspective.

One notable figure who is featured in the series is former President George W. Bush, who is interviewed about his experiences on 9/11 and the decisions that he made in the aftermath of the attacks. This provides a unique perspective on the events of that day, as viewers hear directly from someone who was at the helm of the nation during one of its darkest moments.

Overall, Surviving 9/11 is a moving and powerful tribute to those who lived through one of the defining events of our time. It offers a nuanced and thoughtful exploration of the impact that 9/11 had on individuals, communities, and the nation as a whole, and serves as a reminder of the importance of resilience, compassion, and unity in the face of tragedy.

Surviving 9/11 is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (1 episodes). The series first aired on March 16, 2011.

Surviving 9/11
Filter by Source

1. Special
March 16, 2011
A unique look at the events of September 11, 2001.
Where to Watch Surviving 9/11
Surviving 9/11 is available for streaming on the National Geographic Channel website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Surviving 9/11 on demand at Amazon Prime.
  • Premiere Date
    March 16, 2011
  • IMDB Rating
    8.0  (383)