A Woman Named Jackie

Watch A Woman Named Jackie

  • PG
  • 1991
  • 1 Season
  • 6.6  (326)

A Woman Named Jackie is a drama television miniseries that chronicles the life of the famous American First Lady, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, from her early childhood to her days as a First Lady of the United States. The show opens with an eight-year-old Jackie and her family living in East Hampton, New York. It follows her through her formative years, education, and society debut, showcasing her marriage to John F. Kennedy and their time living in the White House. Later, the series examines the aftermath of JFK's assassination, Jackie's remarriage to Aristotle Onassis, and her life after the death of the Greek billionaire.

Marianna Bishop plays the role of Jackie Kennedy Onassis, despite any existing perceptions the audience may have of the former First Lady. Bishop successfully captures the grace, poise, and elegance that Jackie was famous for, as well as her struggles and vulnerabilities.

Throughout the show, the audience is given a glimpse into the inner workings of the Kennedy family, including their familial relationships and political ambitions. It also delves into the widespread media coverage of their personal lives and public struggles, including the death of their infant son, Patrick, and the affair between JFK and Marilyn Monroe.

Andy Buckley portrays Aristotle Onassis, the billionaire Greek shipping magnate who became Jackie's second husband. He is charming and manipulative, playing the character with a laid-back intensity that perfectly captures Onassis' complex personality. The audience is given insight into the couple's relationship, highlighting their shared love of yachting and the complexities of their union due to family dynamics, society expectations and wealth.

Throughout the six-part series, the audience is provided an intimate look into the Kennedy family and their dynamic. It also highlights Jackie's strength, resilience and ability to move forward despite the many struggles she faced throughout her life.

A Woman Named Jackie is an emotional and compelling story that sheds light on not only one person's life but also on the political and social climate of the United States in the mid-twentieth century. Through Bishop's portrayal of Jackie Kennedy Onassis, the audience is given a rare opportunity to understand the struggles and sacrifices behind the iconic First Lady's graceful exterior. Overall, it is an insightful and moving depiction of a woman who became a symbol of American style, grace and power.

The series premiered on NBC in 1991 and was widely popular, earning critical acclaim and multiple awards nominations, including an Emmy nomination for Marianna Bishop's performance. The show continues to hold a place as one of the most beloved and revered biographical depictions of the former First Lady.

A Woman Named Jackie is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (3 episodes). The series first aired on October 13, 1991.

A Woman Named Jackie
Filter by Source

The Onassis Years
3. The Onassis Years
October 15, 1991
After the assassination, Jackie (Roma Downey) moves to New York; she weds Onassis (Joss Ackland), but problems with Christina (Kadina De Eljalde) and, eventually, Ari cause the union to deteriorate.
The Kennedy Years
2. The Kennedy Years
October 14, 1991
Miscarriage and philandering mark the Kennedys' early years. Jack (Stephen Collins) dallies with Marilyn Monroe (Eve Gordon), and Jackie (Roma Downey) vacations with Onassis (Joss Ackland).
The Bouvier Years
1. The Bouvier Years
October 13, 1991
Brought up in privilege, Jacqueline Bouvier (Roma Downey) marries men of wealth and power. Based on C. David Heymann's book. With Stephen Collins, William Devane, Joss Ackland, Wendy Hughes.
Where to Watch A Woman Named Jackie
A Woman Named Jackie is available for streaming on the Proven Entertainment website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch A Woman Named Jackie on demand at Amazon Prime, Amazon and The Roku Channel Free.
  • Premiere Date
    October 13, 1991
  • IMDB Rating
    6.6  (326)