Shocking Family Secrets

Watch Shocking Family Secrets

  • 2012
  • 1 Season
  • 8.3  (14)

Shocking Family Secrets is a television show that originally aired on Discovery Fit & Health in 2012. The show features a range of stories that focus on individuals who have uncovered dark and disturbing secrets within their family history. Each episode takes viewers on a unique journey as they follow the protagonists through their personal investigation, bringing to light secrets that have been kept hidden for generations.

The show is hosted by Deborah Wise, an experienced journalist and documentary filmmaker. She brings a professional and empathetic touch to each episode, as she interviews the individuals who have sought to uncover the truth about their families. Wise is joined by a team of experts, including psychological counselors and genealogists, who provide valuable insights into the emotional and practical challenges facing those who are trying to uncover their family secrets.

Throughout the episodes, viewers meet people like Martin Poryles, who discovers that his mother was a Holocaust survivor who had hidden her Jewish identity for years. Poryles sets out to uncover the truth about his family's past and travels to Poland, where he learns about his relatives' lives during the Second World War. Another protagonist, Amanda Brooke Lerner, investigates the mystery surrounding her mother's death and uncovers a dark family secret that had been kept hidden for decades.

As viewers follow these individuals on their journeys of discovery, they learn about the complex emotional dynamics and challenging ethical dilemmas that are involved in uncovering family secrets. In many cases, the protagonists must confront uncomfortable truths that have been hidden for decades, and come to terms with the fact that their family members were not always who they appeared to be.

The show is filmed in a dramatic and engaging style, with plenty of suspense and tension as the protagonists work to uncover their family secrets. Each episode is expertly crafted to draw viewers in, with a combination of personal interviews, archival material, and re-enactments used to bring the stories to life. The show's focus on real people and real stories makes it both compelling and emotionally resonant, as viewers become invested in the individuals' quests for truth and self-discovery.

One of the strengths of Shocking Family Secrets is its focus on the emotional impact of uncovering family secrets. The show is not just about the facts of what happened in the past; it is also about the personal journey that each protagonist takes, and the emotional toll that the investigation can take on them. In many cases, the individuals discover secrets that are painful or traumatic, and must grapple with conflicting emotions as they try to make sense of their family histories.

In conclusion, Shocking Family Secrets is a thought-provoking and engaging television show that delves into the complex world of family secrets and mysteries. With a focus on personal stories and emotional journeys, the show provides a unique and compelling look into the challenges and rewards of uncovering the truth about one's family history. Deborah Wise and her team of experts offer a sensitive and empathetic approach to each episode, making this a show that will resonate with anyone who has ever wondered about the secrets buried within their own family tree.

Shocking Family Secrets is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (6 episodes). The series first aired on November 22, 2012.

Filter by Source

Anything for Love
6. Anything for Love
December 27, 2012
A woman's antisocial behavior draws attention.
Nowhere To Run
5. Nowhere To Run
December 20, 2012
A woman's past comes back to haunt her.
Heart Chords
4. Heart Chords
December 13, 2012
A man uncovers a secret about his hometown; another man's ailments unlock clues to his past.
The Ultimate Gift
3. The Ultimate Gift
December 6, 2012
Secrets will forever change the lives of three families. Carolyn and Sean risk everything to have a child, Michele's picture-perfect life is not how it appears, and Randy's new job holds the key to his past.
Debutante in Distress
2. Debutante in Distress
November 29, 2012
Secrets will alter the lives of three families. Julie's life of wealth and privilege is suddenly ripped away, a grieving father hides a shocking secret from his children, and Richard discovers his birth mother is famous.
Around the World and Back
1. Around the World and Back
November 22, 2012
The lives of three families lives are forever changed as Nefertiti unravels the mystery of her nomadic childhood, Steve finds out his birth mother is closer than he thought and Ellen learns about her strained relationship with her parents.
Where to Watch Shocking Family Secrets
Shocking Family Secrets is available for streaming on the Discovery Fit & Health website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Shocking Family Secrets on demand at Discovery+, Amazon Prime, Philo, Amazon, Google Play, Apple TV and Discovery Life.
  • Premiere Date
    November 22, 2012
  • IMDB Rating
    8.3  (14)