The Legend of Prince Valiant

Watch The Legend of Prince Valiant

  • TV-G
  • 1991
  • 1 Season
  • 7.4  (794)

The Legend of Prince Valiant is a captivating family-friendly animated series produced by Content Family Media and distributed by Warner Bros. Television. The show was aired from 1991 to 1994 and consists of sixty-five episodes, each lasting twenty-four minutes. The series is based on Hal Foster's comic strip Prince Valiant, which was published in the 1930s. The show follows the adventures of Prince Valiant, a young prince who is driven from his kingdom when his father, King Aguar of Thule, is overthrown by the evil conqueror Cynan. Valiant is joined by his loyal friends, Arn and Rowanne, as well as his trusty horse, Shadow, on a quest to reclaim his rightful place as ruler of Thule.

One of the unique features of the show is the characters' medieval clothing and architecture, as well as their sword-fighting techniques. The animation is also notable for its use of color, shading, and camera angles. The storyline, which is filled with excitement and suspense, is designed to appeal to both children and adults.

Robby Benson, a recognizable Hollywood actor, provides the voice of Prince Valiant. His performance is lauded for its dynamic range, modulating between a firm, fatherly tone and a youthful, adventurous demeanor. The talented Michael Horton voices Arn and Noelle North provides the voice of Rowanne.

The show is a masterful blend of action, adventure, and humor. The characters are lovable and relatable, each with their unique quirks and flaws that make them realistic and endearing. The show's theme of bravery, loyalty, and honor is exemplified by the heroic deeds of Prince Valiant and his companions, who stand up to injustice and defend the weak against oppressors.

The animation is a highlight of the show, with each episode featuring lush landscapes, intricate castle interiors, and vivid action sequences. Every detail, from the characters' armor to the accuracy of the sword-fighting choreography, is meticulously crafted.

In addition to the main storyline of Prince Valiant's quest to reclaim his kingdom, the show introduces several subplots, including Valiant's complicated relationship with his father, King Aguar's guilt over his failed defense of the kingdom, and Rowanne's ongoing romance with Arn. These subplots add depth and nuance to the show's central narrative, keeping audiences invested in the characters' journeys.

Overall, The Legend of Prince Valiant is a well-crafted, entertaining, and inspiring animated series that captivates audiences of all ages. Its timeless themes of courage, loyalty, and honor remain relevant today, making it a classic that deserves a spot in every family's viewing rotation.

The Legend of Prince Valiant is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (16 episodes). The series first aired on September 2, 1991.

The Legend of Prince Valiant
Filter by Source

The Turn of the Wheel
16. The Turn of the Wheel
December 15, 1991
A gala is taking place at Camelot to honor Sir Gawain and Sir Bryant, the heroes of the siege of Canonwolde.
The Awakening
15. The Awakening
December 8, 1991
While King Arthur and Guinevere are away on official business, Merlin's life is put in danger -- Morgana has convinced Lord Keller, who is feuding with Merlin, to slip him a highly potent sleeping potion.
The Return
14. The Return
December 1, 1991
A powerful ruler from the north, King Ian, is at Camelot negotiating a treaty with Arthur.
The Trap
13. The Trap
November 24, 1991
A small group from Camelot is celebrating Arthur and Guinevere's anniversary at Canonwolde, the fortress where Arthur and Guinevere first lived when they were married.
The Visitor
12. The Visitor
November 17, 1991
A great tournament is taking place in Camelot. Knights from all over the realm have come to participate, including one that can outboast even Sir Gawain...Sir Harold of York.
The Dawn of Darkness
11. The Dawn of Darkness
November 11, 1991
Camelot must contend with a force the likes of which has never been seen -- gunpowder.
The Secret of Perilous Garden
10. The Secret of Perilous Garden
November 3, 1991
Sir Gawain, the confirmed bachelor, has surprised all of Camelot by sending a messenger bearing an announcement that...he is getting married.
The Trust Betrayed
9. The Trust Betrayed
October 27, 1991
Valiant, Arn and Rowanne have joined the rest of Camelot in celebrating the return of Mordred the Valorous, one of the original knights of Camelot.
The Singing Sword
8. The Singing Sword
October 20, 1991
Rowanne hastily leaves for Bridgesford one morning because of a terrible premonition that her family is in danger.
The Gift
7. The Gift
October 13, 1991
Rolf, King Willem's Lord of Arms, has arrived at Camelot bearing a letter and gift from Valiant's father.
The Finding of Camelot
6. The Finding of Camelot
October 6, 1991
Arn wakes up one morning to the sound of mighty hoof beats approaching the castle-keep. He quickly rouses Valiant and Rowanne to witness an incredible vision of a Knight with the emblem of Camelot on his shield galloping past them.
The Trust
5. The Trust
September 29, 1991
Behind a waterfall outside the castle-keep, Val discovers the skeleton of a Viking warrior.
The Kidnapping
4. The Kidnapping
September 22, 1991
Rowanne, quietly practicing her archery in the woods one day, is suddenly abducted.
The Blacksmith's Daughter
3. The Blacksmith's Daughter
September 15, 1991
In search of a blacksmith to repair a broken dagger, Valiant and Arn stumble into a fight in the village of Bridgesford.
The Journey
2. The Journey
September 8, 1991
Prince Valiant, on his quest for Camelot, must contend with all of nature's wonders and dangers alone until he meets a shy, yet savvy peasant named Am.
The Dream
1. The Dream
September 2, 1991
King Willem of Thule, Prince Valiant's father, and his men are under attack by a ruthless tyrant named Cynan.
Where to Watch The Legend of Prince Valiant
The Legend of Prince Valiant is available for streaming on the Content Family website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch The Legend of Prince Valiant on demand at , Tubi TV and Pluto TV.
  • Premiere Date
    September 2, 1991
  • IMDB Rating
    7.4  (794)