When We Rise

Watch When We Rise

  • TV-14
  • 2017
  • 1 Season
  • 7.5  (3,364)

When We Rise is an American docudrama television mini-series, created by Dustin Lance Black and aired on ABC in 2017. The series depicts the real-life struggle for LGBT rights in San Francisco, California from the late 1960s to present times. The show explores the triumphs and hardships of a diverse group of activists whose contribution ultimately made a huge impact on the LGBT+ community.

The show features an accomplished cast of actors including Debra Winger, Rachel Griffiths, Austin P. McKenzie, among others. The story is narrated by Cleve Jones, a prominent LGBT+ rights activist, played by Guy Pearce. The series is divided into eight episodes, each of which runs for approximately 45 minutes.

The show begins in the year 1972, at the time when LGBT+ rights were still a foreign concept. The first episode introduces viewers to three main characters, Cleve Jones, Roma Guy, and Ken Jones. Through their many struggles and heartaches, they become friends and colleagues, fighting for the same cause.

Cleve Jones, a young gay man from Arizona, moves to San Francisco, imagining it will be a place of refuge, where LGBT+ people can live openly and without judgment. However, upon his arrival, he finds that the situation is far from ideal. The LGBT+ community is still ostracized, and the police treat them poorly, fueling brutal violence and discrimination.

Meanwhile, Roma Guy, a women's rights activist, arrives in San Francisco, looking for a job in a local health clinic. She is in a relationship with her partner, Diana Jones, which is often met with hostility and discrimination. When she finally gets a job, she realizes that many of the people she serves are gay or lesbian, who are often denied health care due to their sexual orientation.

Ken Jones, a black man who served in the Vietnam War, returns home to find that he is still subjected to racial discrimination. His decision to come out as gay only adds to his problems. He joins the Black Panther Party, hoping to fight against inequality and injustice.

The show follows the characters through the many historic events that took place during the struggle for LGBT+ rights in the United States, including the Stonewall riots and the assassination of Harvey Milk. The characters face numerous struggles as they fight for change, and the show beautifully highlights how the world around them transforms.

As the characters continue to fight for LGBT+ rights with new energy and determination, the show explores how their personal lives are affected by their activism. Their struggles become a part of the fight for universal acceptance of people of all genders and sexualities, including those from minority communities like the Latinx community.

When We Rise is a powerful and emotional show that brings to life the incredible story of LGBT+ rights activists in San Francisco. It is an important portrayal of the long and arduous road to change while detailing the collective effort of people around the country to eliminate discrimination against the LGBT+ community in the United States. Cleve Jones and his friends' stories are inspiring and worthy of attention, especially as the fight for equality continues in today's society.

In conclusion, When We Rise tells the story of the LGBT+ community's fight to gain rights and acceptance. It's an emotional and insightful show that brilliantly portrays the harsh realities of discrimination and prejudice. With outstanding acting, a captivating display of events, and emotional impact, this show is an inspiring reminder of what can be achieved when people come together to create a better world.

When We Rise is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (6 episodes). The series first aired on February 27, 2017.

When We Rise
Filter by Source

Night IV Part II
6. Night IV Part II
March 4, 2017
Cleve joins a group attempting to overturn California's discriminatory proposition banning gay marriage, which makes its way to the Supreme Court. Ken finds salvation by joining an inclusive church and becoming a minister. Cleve, Ken, and Roma come together at Roma's wedding to Diane, and are struck by the victory they helped achieve.
Night III Part I
5. Night III Part I
March 3, 2017
AIDS continues to ravage the gay community in the early 1990s. Ken enters a VA hospital to receive treatment and is closeted in the midst of "Don't Ask Don't Tell." When Diane's daughter Annie begins asking about her father, Roma and Diane hunt down the biological father.
Night IV
4. Night IV
March 3, 2017
It's 2008, and people are heated over California's Proposition 8 stripping away the right of gays and lesbians to marry. Cleve is fired up and ready to inspire a younger generation to organize a massive march on Washington D.C. to demand full, federal LGBTQ equality in all matters.
Night III
3. Night III
March 2, 2017
It's the early 90s, and HIV/AIDS continues to ravage the gay community. Cleve, Ken and Richard all are infected by the deadly disease.
Night II
2. Night II
March 1, 2017
It is 1978, and Cleve Jones, Ken Jones and Roma Guy take a stand against Proposition 6, which would ban gays, lesbians, and their allies from working in California public schools.
Night I
1. Night I
February 27, 2017
In the two-hour premiere, as these idealistic social-justice soldiers come out or are outed, they are pushed out of their jobs, their movements and their homes, and must flee to San Francisco in hopes of finding a safe place. When their dreams turn to disappointment, they align with the fledgling LGBTQ movement and united, locked arm in arm, embark to change the world.
Where to Watch When We Rise
When We Rise is available for streaming on the ABC website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch When We Rise on demand at Amazon, Hulu, Vudu, Google Play and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    February 27, 2017
  • IMDB Rating
    7.5  (3,364)