Doctor Finlay

Watch Doctor Finlay

  • TV-14
  • 1993
  • 4 Seasons
  • 7.5  (463)

Doctor Finlay is a medical drama series set in the fictional town of Tannochbrae in Scotland during the 1920s. The show premiered in 1993 and ran until 1996, with a total of 31 episodes across three seasons. The series stars David Rintoul as Dr. John Finlay, a dedicated and compassionate general practitioner who is often at odds with the town's more conservative residents. Annette Crosbie co-stars as Janet MacPherson, the headstrong and independent housekeeper of Finlay's home.

The show is based on the novels of A. J. Cronin, a Scottish author and physician who wrote extensively about his experiences in the medical profession. Doctor Finlay follows the daily lives of Dr. Finlay, his partner Dr. Cameron (played by Jason Flemyng), and their colleagues at the local medical practice, as well as the residents of Tannochbrae who come to them for treatment.

Throughout the series, the doctors face a wide range of medical challenges, from childbirth and infectious diseases to accidents and injuries. But they also deal with the social and economic issues of the day, such as poverty, alcoholism, and domestic violence. The show explores the complexities of rural life in Scotland during the early 20th century, with a focus on the challenges faced by women, working-class families, and the elderly.

As the series unfolds, Dr. Finlay becomes increasingly involved in the lives of his patients, often going above and beyond the call of duty to help them. This sometimes puts him at odds with the more conservative members of the community, who view him as an outsider and a threat to their way of life. But Finlay is a determined and passionate physician, who fights tirelessly for the health and well-being of his patients.

In addition to the medical storylines, the show also delves into the personal lives of the characters. Dr. Finlay is a widower who is still mourning the loss of his wife, while Janet is a divorcee who struggles to balance her independence with her desire for companionship. The doctors' relationships with each other are also explored, as they navigate the ups and downs of their work and personal lives.

The performances in Doctor Finlay are uniformly excellent, with Rintoul and Crosbie in particular delivering standout work. Rintoul brings a quiet intensity and understated humor to his portrayal of Dr. Finlay, while Crosbie imbues Janet with a fiery spirit and vulnerability. The supporting cast is also strong, with memorable performances from Flemyng, Ian Bannen, and Jessica Turner, among others.

The production design and cinematography of the show are also noteworthy, capturing the beauty and harshness of the Scottish landscape with great skill. The costumes and set design evoke a strong sense of the period, immersing the viewer in the world of the 1920s.

Overall, Doctor Finlay is a compelling and emotionally resonant medical drama that offers a thoughtful and nuanced exploration of its characters and themes. It's a show that will appeal to fans of historical drama, as well as those who appreciate well-crafted storytelling and engaging performances. With three seasons of episodes to enjoy, Doctor Finlay is a series that deserves to be rediscovered by a new generation of viewers.

Doctor Finlay is a series that is currently running and has 4 seasons (27 episodes). The series first aired on May 9, 1993.

Doctor Finlay
Filter by Source

8. Snowblind
December 20, 1996
On the night before the Scottish celebration of Hogmanay, a blizzard rages outside while Janet and the doctors enjoy a pleasant dinner at Arden House. Then Dr. Cameron experiences a medical emergency, and with the roads blocked and the power gone out, Dr. Finlay must rely on his own resources to save his colleague.
Still Waters
7. Still Waters
May 12, 1996
Dr. Finlay and Dr. Cameron visit a nearby convent after its nuns experience an outbreak of mysterious symptoms, but they have trouble gaining access to their cloistered patients. Dr. Napier meets a handsome schoolteacher and receives a tempting offer.
The Life of Men
6. The Life of Men
May 5, 1996
One of Dr. Finlay's patients confesses to murder on his deathbed. Wrestling with whether he should keep the man's secret as promised or try to exonerate the man convicted, Dr. Finlay turns amateur sleuth to solve the crime himself.
5. Mercury
April 28, 1996
Angus's pharmacy is broken into, and a bottle of mercuric chloride is stolen. As Janet tries to sniff out the culprit, the doctors discern the reason for the theft: someone suffering from syphilis is attempting to take the outdated-and highly dangerous-mercury cure.
A Simple Operation
4. A Simple Operation
April 21, 1996
Feeling overworked, Dr. Finlay decides to take a holiday up to the Highlands for some exercise and relaxation. But his quiet vacation takes an eventful turn when he meets an intriguing young woman and her blind, communist father.
Days of Grace
3. Days of Grace
April 14, 1996
When a newborn baby is abandoned on the doorstep of Arden House, Dr. Finlay wants to alert the authorities immediately, but Dr. Napier begs him to hold off for a couple days while she tries to find the child's mother.
Home Truths
2. Home Truths
April 7, 1996
A married couple settles in Tannochbrae after decades spent working for the colonial government in India. Although they struggle to adjust to life back in Britain, they refuse to have any contact with their daughter in Edinburgh.
All Jock Tamson's Bairns
1. All Jock Tamson's Bairns
March 31, 1996
Dr. Finlay hospitalizes local legend the Brigadier, a highly decorated soldier, after he comes down with a high fever. Tensions in the community ignite against a group of itinerant Irish workers, as some people blame them for the Brigadier's illness.
Where to Watch Doctor Finlay
Doctor Finlay is available for streaming on the Acorn TV website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Doctor Finlay on demand at Apple TV Channels, Amazon Prime, Crackle, Tubi TV and Plex.
  • Premiere Date
    May 9, 1993
  • IMDB Rating
    7.5  (463)