Watch The Proud Family

Add to Watchlist

The Proud Family was an animated television series in the United States. The show aired from September of 2001 to August 2005. It was shown on the Disney Channel during that time span. This show was created by Bruce Smith along with being produced by the company known as Jambalaya Studios. The show was supposed to be shown the station Nickelodeon but it was aired by the Disney Channel after the station obtained rights to the show. Macromedia Flash was used to produce the show. One thing to note is that this show was the first Disney animated series to not premiere on network over the air television. It was also the first ever Disney Channel Original Series The show was not directly produced by Disney TV. Since 2010 the show is no longer listed in the Disney Channel directory.

Like all television shows, the Proud Family has many characters that make the show unique. The main protagonist in this show is Penny Proud. She is a 14 year old girl who is often embarrassed by the way her father behaves. Penny enjoys spending time with her friends. Despite the fact that her friends often got her into trouble and danger, she still associates with them. She is also very logical and a bit of a feminist. Penny is a talented singer as well.

The next character is Oscar Proud. He is an overprotective father who is known to possess personality traits such as immaturity, dimwitted and hyperactive. Oscar also is known to have a childish disposition but he is also known to be a somewhat intelligent man at times. When it comes to occupation he is the owner of a snack business known as Proud Snacks. The snacks he sells are not very popular but since he invested in Apple he is still financially stable.

There are other characters in the show such as Trudy Proud who is the mother of Penny and her siblings. She is a veterinarian who comes from a wealthy family that includes a father he is a doctor and a sister who is a famous and successful actress. Penny has siblings which include the twins BeBe and CeCe Proud. Then there is Suga Mama Proud who is the grandmother of Penny and her siblings and also Bobby Proud who is the older brother of Oscar. The family has a pet poodle known as Puff.

The Proud Family is a series that is currently running and has 3 seasons (51 episodes). The series first aired on September 15, 2001.

Where do I stream The Proud Family online? The Proud Family is available for streaming on Disney, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch The Proud Family on demand at Disney+, Amazon, Google Play, iTunes online.

3 Seasons, 51 Episodes
September 15, 2001
Animation & Cartoon Kids & Family Comedy
Cast: Kyla Pratt
Watch Episodes

The Proud Family Full Episode Guide

  • Penny rescues a poor duck from drowning, but after bringing it home, the ducks turns out to be vengeful and violent.

  • Michael decides to shed his feminine appearance and personality.

  • Sugar Momma asks Oscar to help her study for the renewal exam, when her driver's license gets expired.

  • Penny wishes that Bebe and Cece were older so they can take care of themselves. Her wish then comes to pass but when they become popular and more liked than her at school she begin to regret her wish.

  • Suga Mama becomes the coach of Penny's baseball team. She then changes the name to The Believers. And they then go on a wining streak, until one of Suga Mama's old rivals comes back to town.

  • Mongo, a famous wrestler, gets sick from eating Proud Snacks. Oscar is then forced to step into the ring to defend Mongo's belt.

  • Teen Idol is in town, and Penny and the gang try to audition. Unfortunately, only LaCienaga advances to the next round- and an ugly duckling named Agatha Ordinario.

  • Penny runs for school president.

  • For the celebration of diversity, Penny and her fellow classmates must swap lives with a student who comes from a different culture for a week. Penny is hesitant at first when she learns she will be switching with a Muslim student, Radika.

  • Papi gets sent to a nursing home that turns out to be a front for an okra farm where the residents are forced to work. So Penny and her friends team up with Sugar Momma to attempt to save him.

  • Oscar's monkey gets sick from eating one of the Proud family snacks and Mariah Carey's monkey gets sick also. They take their monkeys to the same Veterinarian. The monkeys then get switched and then chaos ensues.

  • Penny's great aunt Spice comes to town and tricks Zoe into believing that she has telekenisis.

  • LaCienega's boyfriend Lil Wiz hooks Penny and the gang up with jobs at Wizard Kelly's store.

  • Penny volunteers to be a counselor. Oscar is afraid she will be hanging with boys, so he has a camp kid spy on her.

  • Penny rehearses for the debutante ball and meets a well-mannered man.

  • Dijonay flirts with a new boy from Hawaii to make sticky jealous.

  • Dijonay sneaks off to see a concert, leaving Penny to babyist all of their siblings.

  • Trudy decides to hire someone who can help out with taking care of the family while she's gone, and she thinks she's hired someone who's perfect- maybe too perfect!

  • When Suga Mama's newest recipe is much better than anything Oscar has ever made, he tries to make as much money as possible.

  • Penny gives Oscar her chance to win 1,000,000 dollars by making a free-throw shot to fullfill one of his life's dreams.

  • Penny wishes for a world without adults, when her parents ground her for sneaking out and going to a teenage nightclub.

  • Penny gets sent to boot camp when her attitude and personality become more- and worse than the Gross sisters.

  • Penny takes karate lessons.

  • The Proud & Boulevardez families go on a camping trip.

  • Penny saves her favorite show from being cancelled, and she's happy about it, until she meets the show's star and wonders if it was worth it.

  • Oscar & Trudy's families argue while in town for the twin's baptism.

  • Penny & Dijonay compete against each other in a poetry contest. Oscar has to deal with a new neighbor named Peabo who loves Penny & Proud Snacks.

  • Penny wrongly suspects that Oscar is having an affair with his old school friend, Debra.

  • Penny undergoes a change from her bad attitude to good along with a change in appearance when she eats a magic snack.

  • LPDZ gets a record deal when a music company hears them sing, and everything is going fine until Penny wants to go solo.

  • Penny gets the lead part in their school production of Romeo & Juliet, but ends up falling in love with her co-star Kwok. When Oscar catches them kissing, will Penny still do the play?

  • LaCienega, Penny, Dijonay, & Zoey's popularity soars when they appear on Hip-Hop Helicopter as LPDZ. But things get bad when their parents see the outfits that they wore. Suga Mama keeps beating Oscar at bowling.

  • Sticky starts hanging with a group of bullies called The Altos.