Happily Never After

Watch Happily Never After

  • TV-PG
  • 2012
  • 3 Seasons
  • 6.9  (123)

Happily Never After was a riveting true crime series that aired on Investigation Discovery between 2012 and 2016. The show offered unique insights into some of the most shocking and heart-wrenching murder cases that occurred across the United States. Hosted by notable personalities such as Marlo Thomas, Wendy L. Walsh, and Natalie Cassell, the series explored incidents of love gone wrong, jealousy, greed, and betrayal that led to gruesome homicides and violent crimes.

Each episode of Happily Never After focused on a single case, following the timeline of events that led up to the crime, the investigation, and the eventual arrest and conviction of the perpetrator. The show used interviews with friends, family members, law enforcement officials, and legal experts to provide a comprehensive look at each case from multiple angles. With each episode, Happily Never After presented a new mystery to be solved, and each case was more shocking and disturbing than the last.

One of the strengths of the show was the way it portrayed the victims. Happily Never After did not shy away from exploring the lives of those who fell victim to these heinous crimes. Through interviews with their loved ones, we got to know the victims as vibrant, intelligent, and caring people with full lives ahead of them. Seeing the human side of these tragedies made the cases all the more heartbreaking and added to the sense of urgency to bring the perpetrators to justice.

The series was also notable for its focus on the female perspective. Many of the cases featured women as victims, and the show took pains to explore the unique challenges and dangers women faced in their relationships. The show also highlighted the crucial role of women in law enforcement, with many of the experts interviewed being female detectives, investigators, and prosecutors.

From cases involving long-simmering family feuds to tales of jilted lovers seeking revenge, Happily Never After covered a wide range of criminal activity. Some cases involved intricate web of lies and deceit, while others were impulsive crimes of passion. Each episode offered viewers a glimpse into the twisted minds of the offenders, often shedding light on the factors that contributed to their downfall.

Despite the show's dark subject matter, it never felt exploitative or sensationalized. Happily Never After approached each case with respect and sensitivity, always emphasizing the humanity of the victims and their families. The show's hosts and experts provided thoughtful commentary, often offering insights into the psychological, cultural, and social factors at play in each case.

In short, Happily Never After was a gripping true crime series that offered a nuanced look into some of America's most baffling homicide cases. With its focus on the human side of these stories, the show offered a powerful reminder of the brutality and unpredictability of human nature. From start to finish, the series was a masterclass in true crime storytelling, leaving viewers on the edge of their seats and eager for more.

Happily Never After is a series that is currently running and has 3 seasons (33 episodes). The series first aired on July 21, 2012.

Happily Never After
Filter by Source

Ocean of Evil
10. Ocean of Evil
July 26, 2014
Anita is thrilled to be married to her new husband Michael. But the perfect pair are tragically separated when a wave of deception comes crashing down on them.
Dance With the Devil
9. Dance With the Devil
July 26, 2014
Oscar and Victoria knew they would be dance partners for life, but soon after they marry, tragedy strikes. Now police must solve the case and bring a killer to justice.
Lethal Love
8. Lethal Love
July 12, 2014
Devout Christian Carol finds love with devoted Dennis. Their love comes to a painful end when Carol dies unexpectedly. But when the autopsy reveals a lethal substance in her body, police are lead to an evil killer.
On the Market for Murder
7. On the Market for Murder
July 5, 2014
Eddie Patton and Tyler Walsh have a miserable meeting with an intruder.
Virtual Demise
6. Virtual Demise
June 28, 2014
Southern gentleman Kim VanPelt is a perfect match for caring Sandy Ozment. But their fairytale turns into a nightmare when Sandy is found fatally beaten. Now, authorities must find the killer who destroyed this couple's wedded bliss.
Crushed By Love
5. Crushed By Love
June 21, 2014
Examining the mysterious disappearance of a Navy man and a single mom.
Love, Blood and War
4. Love, Blood and War
June 14, 2014
There's instant chemistry between Toni Cato and Army soldier, Anthony Riggs. But soon after the ceremony, a shadowy gunman shatters their future with five bullets to the head. Police must sort through family betrayal, greed, and deception to get an answer.
Painted in Blood
3. Painted in Blood
June 7, 2014
Jennifer vanishes after her fairy tale wedding to her prince charming, Joe.
Demon in the Dark
2. Demon in the Dark
May 31, 2014
A newly married couple are brutally attacked in their beds. Police use their remains to solve the case.
A Ride with Evil
1. A Ride with Evil
May 24, 2014
Swimsuit model Summer is adored by her fiancé Clint. But the couple is fatally separated by a bullet. Clint must help police search for the shooter as they untangle a web of jealousy, lies and betrayal.
Where to Watch Happily Never After
Happily Never After is available for streaming on the Investigation Discovery website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Happily Never After on demand at Discovery+, Amazon Prime, Amazon, Vudu, Investigation Discovery, Google Play and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    July 21, 2012
  • IMDB Rating
    6.9  (123)