Martin Clunes' Islands of Australia

Watch Martin Clunes' Islands of Australia

  • 2016
  • 1 Season

Martin Clunes' Islands of Australia is an enchanting travelogue series, following actor Martin Clunes as he explores some of the incredible islands that scatter the coastline of Australia. The show comprises three episodes, each highlighting a different island and its unique ecosystem, wildlife, and culture.

In the first episode, Clunes sets off to visit the Tiwi Islands, located about 50 miles north of the Northern Territory's capital city Darwin. The Tiwi Islands are home to the Tiwi people, who have a rich cultural history spanning back over 40,000 years. Clunes immerses himself in Tiwi culture, attending a traditional dance ceremony, visiting a school where elders teach the young generation Tiwi art, and experiencing the unique Tiwi cuisine. He also explores the diverse flora and fauna of the islands, including rare bird species such as the black-winged stilt, barking owl, and the elusive orange-footed scrubfowl.

The second episode takes Clunes to Kangaroo Island, located off the coast of South Australia. Kangaroo Island is rich in wildlife and boasts a diverse landscape, including rugged coastal cliffs and rolling hills dotted with eucalyptus trees. Clunes encounters some of the island's famed residents such as the Australian sea lions, kangaroos, wallabies, and koalas, some of which are endangered. He also visits a honey farm and a winery, learning about the island's unique agricultural practices.

In the final episode of the series, Clunes travels to Lord Howe Island, a tiny idyllic island paradise located about 400 miles east of mainland Australia. The island is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, noted for its unique ecosystem and stunning natural beauty. Clunes explores the lush rainforest, towering mountains, and the world's southernmost coral reef, home to over 500 fish species. Despite its small size, Lord Howe Island boasts an array of activities. Clunes hikes to the top of Mount Gower, one of the island's most iconic landmarks, and embarks on an exploratory snorkeling adventure in the clear, turquoise waters.

Throughout the series, Clunes offers viewers a window into the past and present of Australia's island culture, and the unique challenges and rewards of living on isolated island communities. He also shares his own insights and perspective as a seasoned traveler and animal lover, bringing an engaging and vibrant energy to each episode.

Martin Clunes' Islands of Australia is an expertly crafted and insightful travelogue series, ideal for both travel enthusiasts and wildlife lovers. With stunning cinematography and an engaging host, the series is a must-watch for anyone who dreams of exploring the hidden corners of Australia's beautiful island communities.

Martin Clunes' Islands of Australia is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (3 episodes). The series first aired on October 7, 2016.

Filter by Source

Do you have Hulu?
What are you waiting for?
Nice! Browse Hulu with Yidio.
Ad Info - This show may not be available on Hulu
Episode 3
3. Episode 3
October 21, 2016
On Mundoo Island, Martin spends a day with the Grundy family on their 600 acre farm; then he heads to Phillip Island, which boasts one of Australia's greatest conservation success stories, despite being a popular tourist destination. Martin also visits Maria Island and works with scientists to learn about the disease threatening Australia's iconic Tasmanian devil.
Episode 2
2. Episode 2
October 14, 2016
The Tiwi Islands of Bathurst and Melville take pride in their ancient customs, and Martin gets a firsthand look at island Aboriginal culture. Then Martin swims at the great Ningaloo Reef while exploring the cluster of islands known as the Magical Muirons and visits Carnac Island, home to hundreds of venomous tiger snakes.
Episode 1
1. Episode 1
October 7, 2016
Martin begins his journey in Sydney's iconic harbor, then travels to Lord Howe Island, where he learns about the Kentia palm, the world's most popular indoor plant. When visiting Norfolk Island, Martin learns the brutal truth about the most notorious prison island in the British Empire.
Where to Watch Martin Clunes' Islands of Australia
Martin Clunes' Islands of Australia is available for streaming on the Acorn TV website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Martin Clunes' Islands of Australia on demand at Amazon, Google Play, Hoopla and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    October 7, 2016