Watch The Lying Game

Add to Watchlist

The Lying Game is a teen drama that airs on ABC Family and premiered in August 2011. Currently, only one season of the show has been aired, but the second season is scheduled for a winter 2012 premier. The show follows Emma, played by Alexandra Chando. She is a foster child who discovers she has an identical twin sister, Sutton, also played by Chando. The twins were split up at birth with Emma winding up in a foster home and Sutton being adopted by wealthy parents, living what seems to be the perfect life. The two sisters meet prior to the show's first episode and agree to switch lives while Sutton seeks information about the girl's birth mother in Los Angeles. The excitement of switching lives soon wears off for Emma when she discovers that her sister's life is not what it seems.

The show features many twists and turns, and many different characters fit into and feed the mystery. The season finale left audiences with a shocker. Sutton, reveals that Rebecca, played by Charisma Carpenter, is the twins mother, and Rebecca implies that the two have been working together to make everything that came previously fall into place. After this cliffhanger, fans of the show faced uncertainty about its future, until it was finally announced that there would be a second season.

The show, based on a book series of the same name by Sara Shepard, received praise from some critics, including receiving a rating of five out of five stars from TV Fanatic's Leigh Raines, and received other favorable reviews from Buzz Focus's Melody Simpson and the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette's Rob Owen.

Tuesday 9:00 pm et/pt on ABC
2 Seasons, 30 Episodes
August 15, 2011
Cast: Alexandra Chando, Andy Buckley, Allie Gonino, Alice Greczyn, Blair Redford
Watch Episodes

The Lying Game Full Episode Guide

  • In the second season finale, the charity gala becomes serious when everyone honors the memory of a loved one. Dan gives Ethan an ultimatum with tragic consequences. Emma finally confronts Rebecca about her lost childhood. Ted tries to find a way to tell Kristin about his past.

  • Ethan's confession to Dan could destroy their relationship forever. Sutton receives a mysterious phone call.

  • It's Dan and Theresa's wedding day, but the celebrations are derailed. Ethan figures out who Emma is protecting and confronts her about shutting him out.

  • Emma tries to decipher new information as well as adapt to the changes in her relationships with Ethan and Thayer. After hearing Emma's suspicions about Rebecca, Sutton begins to doubt her mother.

  • The Flipside Formal provides Emma with the opportunity to try to catch Rebecca in a lie.

  • Emma and Thayer delve deeper into the twins' birth mother and Sutton's knowledge about her. Laurel begins to be suspicious of her sister and stirs things up when she starts asking questions.

  • As Emma gathers more details about the night Sutton's car went into the lake, she becomes suspicious of her sister's integrity. Ted invites his family to be his guests at an event in his honor and Rebecca orders Sutton to use the opportunity to further their plans for the Mercer family.

  • Sutton heeds Rebecca's advice and challenges Emma to a tennis match - winner gets to live as Sutton Mercer.

  • Sutton is determined to win back Ethan, and reveals her intentions to Emma. Rebecca and Alec make wedding plans.

  • The second season opens with Alec in jail for murder charges, but that doesn't prevent him from intimidating Emma. Meanwhile, Rebecca and Sutton clash with Emma and Laurel's; and Mads meets a new guy who is very mysterious.

  • In the season finale, things don't seem right when a surprise engagement triggers a shot gun wedding. Sutton tells Emma she should show Kristing their findings from Rebecca's house. Ethan finds something that changes everything.

  • Emma is determined to find out what happened on the reservation but Ethan won't talk to her and Sutton has intentions to send her packing for good.

  • Ethan is caught by the FBI and returned to Phoenix to face murder charges.

  • Ethan is still wanted by the authorities and is hiding out with Sutton, which leaves Emma worrying if justice will ever be served.

  • Ethan and Sutton skip town to hide out when Ethan is implicated in a crime.

  • Ethan helps Emma search for answers about her twin sister. A tattoo brings back a memory about Sutton, and Ethan wants an explanation.

  • On the evening of the country club's Black and White Ball for junior members, Emma becomes the outsider, and Ethan must protect her. Although they are fiercely loyal to each other, the jealousy and lies start to take their toll.

  • Emma, Ethan, and Thayer follow a lead to find Sutton, but it only brings more questions.

  • Sutton disappears after a disagreement and the Mercer family car is missing from the garage.

  • Sutton returns to Phoenix to get her life back making Emma's perfect life come to an end.

  • Emma is fed up with all the secrets in the house. She hears Ted and Kristen arguing and thinks she can get the truth from Sutton's mom, even though it's been kept a secret for almost seventeen years.

  • Tension escalates when Emma's creepy foster brother, Travis, arrives and manipulates her. With her relationship with Ethan still strained, Emma is forced to go along with Travis' plan in an effort to get him to leave her alone.

  • When Thayer returns to Phoenix and everyone deals with the aftermath of Eduardo's accident, questions surrounding Emma and Thayer arise. Sutton's friends are tired of the lies and demand that Emma tell the truth.

  • Sutton may have discovered where Annie Hobbes has been held for years, just as the backlash of Emma and Ethan's homecoming performance begins.

  • Sutton and Emma soon discover they have dreamed the same dreams and had similar childhood experiences.

  • The Mercer family has Ethan at their dinner table. Meanwhile, Sutton finds shocking information in L.A. Also, Laurel and Char are interested in the same guy.

  • Emma is concerned that something has happened to Sutton. Meanwhile, Sutton's friends and family also become suspicious.

  • In the series premiere we meet Emma and Sutton, identical twins who were separated at birth and raised very differently.

Watch The Lying Game Online - Watch online anytime: Stream, Download, Buy, Rent

The Lying Game is available to watch free on CW Seed and stream on ABC. You can also stream, download, buy, rent The Lying Game on demand at Amazon, Vudu, Google Play, iTunes, CW Seed online.