Thou Shalt Not

Watch Thou Shalt Not

  • 2017
  • 1 Season
  • 8.2  (17)

Thou Shalt Not is a gripping and intense true crime television series that was aired on TV One in 2017. Developed to delve into the darker aspects of human nature, the show unearths, examines, and brings to life chilling stories of serious crime through a unique religious lens. The central focus of Thou Shalt Not is not just on presenting the nitty-gritty details of these crimes, but to consider the intriguing intersection of criminality and morality - two concepts that stir significant contemplation in the minds of viewers.

Each episode of the series is centred around a harrowing crime narrated from the perspective of the victims, the perpetrators, as well as the law enforcers who relentlessly pursued justice. The series handles the storytelling aspect with commendable finesse, combining dramatizations, news footage, and direct testimonials from those involved in each case, offering a comprehensive visualization of events that are too disturbing to be dismissed as mere tales.

The title of the series, Thou Shalt Not, is a nod to the Biblical Ten Commandments, underscoring the moral undertones of the narrative that each episode unfolds. The show also goes beyond the standard depiction of crime, making an effort to explore the convoluted motivations that lead people to violate these universally accepted moral laws. This exploration provides an additional psychological layer to each narrative, as it investigates how an individual's moral compass can become so askew that they're driven to committing unthinkable acts.

Being seen through this moral and religious lens also elevates this series within its genre. It does not only dwell on the sensationalism or the thrill of the crime; instead, it encourages viewers to introspect on fundamental ethical norms, societal expectations, and the dichotomy between our inherent moral instincts and our actions.

Thou Shalt Not does an extraordinary job painting a vivid picture of each crime, showing viewers not only what happened, but often why it happened. Utilizing high-quality production, careful dramatization, and thorough investigative reporting, the series presents a chilling and stark portrayal of the depths to which human depravity can sink when influenced by greed, passion, desperation, or even misguided loyalty. It brings to light the darkest corners of the human psyche and compels viewers to question the very nature of good and evil.

Running over multiple episodes, the series features diverse stories and unique characters; from murderers masquerading as devout Christians, thieves justifying their crimes by warped interpretations of religious teachings, to seemingly normal individuals breaking moral and societal laws under the strangest circumstances. Amidst the complexities of the crimes, the testimonies of the victims and the brave law enforcement officers working passionately behind the scenes evoke a sense of empathy, hope, and a desire for justice within viewers.

However, one of the more potent attractions of Thou Shalt Not lies in its objective and respectful treatment of religion. The show makes it clear that it neither generalizes nor stereotypes religious individuals based on the actions of a few. This neutrality helps maintain a balanced perspective, presenting the narrative in a straightforward manner free from bias.

In conclusion, Thou Shalt Not on TV One is a series that goes beyond the typical true crime thrill. The show's exploration into the links between crime, morality, and religion adds a unique spin on the conventional crime genre, creating a thought-provoking viewing experience that intrigues and engages, leaving viewers contemplating the fine line between right and wrong. By pushing to explore these profound themes, Thou Shalt Not stands out as an intriguing, multi-dimensional crime series that truly separates it from the rest.

Thou Shalt Not
Filter by Source
No sources available
Unrequited Souls
6. Unrequited Souls
October 23, 2017
A relationship goes south and one woman herself questioning everything. Also: a man who leads a charmed life suffers a tragedy.
Devils Amongst Us
5. Devils Amongst Us
October 16, 2017
A man snaps on his mother after garnering a reputation as a good son. Also: two church learders' belief in discipline takes a fatal turn
Broken Angels
4. Broken Angels
October 9, 2017
Two twins are at odds when one tries to take the high road while the other prefers lower alternatives. Also: a man's life of heartache leaves him destitute.
Infernal Minds
3. Infernal Minds
September 25, 2017
Summary not available
2. Unleashed
September 18, 2017
Summary is not available.
Fallen Angels
1. Fallen Angels
September 11, 2017
In Bethesda, Maryland, Brittany Norwood's quick fall from grace lands her in the center of a murder investigation that rattles the community. And later, in Pennsylvania, an irresistible sin creeps up behind a husband and wife meant to be together...until death do they part.
  • Premiere Date
    September 11, 2017
  • IMDB Rating
    8.2  (17)