A Wilderness of Error

Watch A Wilderness of Error

  • TV-MA
  • 2020
  • 1 Season
  • 6.5  (1,093)

A Wilderness of Error is a true-crime documentary series that premiered on FX on September 25, 2020. The show is based on a book of the same name, written by Errol Morris, which chronicles the story of Jeffery MacDonald, a former Green Beret who was convicted of murdering his pregnant wife and two young daughters in their home in 1970.

The series uses archival footage, reenactments, and interviews with key players in the case to explore the evidence against MacDonald and the various conspiracy theories that have emerged since his conviction. Morris approaches the case from a journalistic perspective, analyzing the media coverage of the trial and the impact it had on public opinion.

The first episode of the series introduces viewers to MacDonald and the crime scene, which was initially believed to be the work of a group of hippies. As the investigation unfolds, it becomes clear that MacDonald himself is the main suspect. The series delves into the trial, which was characterized by conflicting testimony and a lack of physical evidence.

Morris interviews MacDonald's defense team, including lead attorney Bernard Segal, as well as journalists who covered the trial. The series also examines MacDonald's relationship with famed author Joe McGinness, who wrote a book about the case that was later turned into a TV movie.

In addition to revisiting the trial, A Wilderness of Error explores the various conspiracy theories that have emerged over the years. Some people believe MacDonald is innocent and was framed by government officials who were trying to cover up his involvement in a drug trafficking ring. Others believe that MacDonald's guilt was covered up by wealthy and influential people who had ties to the military.

One of the series' strengths is its attention to detail. Morris presents a wealth of information, including crime scene photos and autopsy reports, which allows viewers to draw their own conclusions about MacDonald's guilt or innocence. However, the series doesn't take a definitive stance on the case, instead leaving it up to viewers to decide what they believe.

The series also explores the impact the trial and subsequent media coverage had on the families of MacDonald's victims. Morris interviews various family members, who express differing opinions on whether or not MacDonald is guilty. The series presents a complex portrait of a case that has fascinated true crime enthusiasts for decades.

A Wilderness of Error has received positive reviews for its in-depth exploration of the case and the storytelling skills of Morris, who is a renowned documentary filmmaker. The series manages to shed new light on a case that has been covered extensively over the years.

Overall, A Wilderness of Error is a gripping and thought-provoking true-crime series that offers a fresh perspective on a notorious case. Whether you're a true crime junkie or just looking for an engaging new series to watch, A Wilderness of Error is definitely worth checking out.

A Wilderness of Error is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (5 episodes). The series first aired on September 25, 2020.

A Wilderness of Error
Filter by Source

A Wilderness of Error
5. A Wilderness of Error
October 2, 2020
Jeffrey MacDonald served more than 30 years in prison when a federal judge finally agrees to hear the new evidence in his case. Errol Morris heads to North Carolina believing the truth will finally come out.
When a Narrative Becomes Reality
4. When a Narrative Becomes Reality
October 2, 2020
When Joe McGinniss' book, "Fatal Vision," is published, the story it tells is not what convicted killer Jeffrey MacDonald had hoped for. New evidence is discovered that may finally prove Jeffrey MacDonald is innocent. The Girl in the Floppy Hat sits for an interview.
Should the Jury Find...
3. Should the Jury Find...
September 25, 2020
Nine years after the murders of his pregnant wife and two young daughters, the guilt of Green Beret Dr. Jeffrey MacDonald is put to a civilian jury. The defense calls a surprise witness: The Girl in a Floppy Hat.
A Time of Suspicion
2. A Time of Suspicion
September 25, 2020
After an Army hearing frees Green Beret Dr. Jeffrey MacDonald, his father-in-law demands a reinvestigation. But when he sees all the evidence, he's shocked by where it leads.
Girl in a Floppy Hat
1. Girl in a Floppy Hat
September 25, 2020
Famed filmmaker Errol Morris is obsessed with one of America's most popularized true crimes: the murder of a pregnant wife and two young daughters on an Army base in 1970. Green Beret doctor Jeffrey MacDonald said a band of drugged-crazed hippies attacked his family, led by a girl in a floppy hat. Army investigators said MacDonald committed the murders.
Where to Watch A Wilderness of Error
A Wilderness of Error is available for streaming on the FX website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch A Wilderness of Error on demand at Amazon, Vudu and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    September 25, 2020
  • IMDB Rating
    6.5  (1,093)