Watch Bramwell

  • TV-MA
  • 1995
  • 4 Seasons
  • 7.9  (1,075)

Bramwell from ITV is a period medical drama series set in the late Victorian era in England. It originally aired for four seasons from 1995 to 1998, with a total of 32 episodes. The show follows the life and career of Dr. Eleanor Bramwell, played by Jemma Redgrave, and her father Dr. Robert Bramwell, played by David Calder, as they navigate the challenges of medicine, gender and social politics in a male-dominated and class-conscious society.

At the start of the series, Eleanor Bramwell is an ambitious young woman who has just graduated from medical school with honors. She is determined to become a successful doctor, despite facing resistance from her patients, colleagues and family. Meanwhile, her father Robert is a respected physician and surgeon who takes great pride in his work and is highly regarded by his peers. He is a widower who struggles to connect with his daughter but is ultimately supportive of her goals.

The dynamic between Eleanor and Robert forms the core of the show. Despite their different approaches to medicine and conflicting personalities, they share a deep bond and respect for each other's talents. They are frequently at odds with each other as they challenge each other's beliefs and methods, but they also rely on each other for guidance and support. They are joined by their colleague and friend, Dr. Joe Marsham, played by Kevin McMonagle, who provides a grounding presence and a sounding board for their ideas.

Throughout the series, the three doctors deal with a wide range of medical cases and ethical dilemmas. They are faced with issues such as gender equality, class privilege, medical ethics, patient confidentiality, and the lack of resources and technology in the Victorian era. They encounter both sympathetic and hostile patients, from the poor and working-class patients who are often grateful for their help, to the aristocrats who are dismissive of their abilities and status.

The show also explores the personal lives of the characters, including their relationships, family problems, and personal struggles. Eleanor, in particular, has to confront her own prejudices, insecurities, and desires, as she grapples with her sexuality, romantic feelings towards her colleague Marsham, and her yearning for independence and recognition. Robert, on the other hand, deals with his own grief and guilt over his wife's death, as well as his nervous breakdown and addiction to drugs.

The production values of Bramwell are excellent, with meticulous attention to detail in the set design, costumes, and historical accuracy. The show features realistic medical procedures and treatments, such as surgeries, childbirth, and epidemics, which are not for the faint of heart. The acting is also superb, with Redgrave and Calder delivering nuanced and compelling performances that showcase the complexity and humanity of their characters.

Overall, Bramwell is an engaging and thought-provoking drama series that sheds light on the challenges and triumphs of early female doctors and the evolution of medicine in the Victorian era. It is a must-watch for fans of historical dramas, medical shows, and feminist narratives.

Bramwell is a series that is currently running and has 4 seasons (27 episodes). The series first aired on May 22, 1995.

Filter by Source

Loose Women
2. Loose Women
June 18, 1998
A brothel fire causes dark secrets to be revealed and the relationships between Eleanor, Joe and Major Quarrie to be finally resolved.
Our Brave Boys
1. Our Brave Boys
June 15, 1998
Eleanor Bramwell is adjusting to life on her own after her father's wedding. She is engaged to Dr. Marsham, but still unsure whether this is the right thing to do.
Where to Watch Bramwell
Bramwell is available for streaming on the ITV website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Bramwell on demand at Amazon Prime and Crackle.
  • Premiere Date
    May 22, 1995
  • IMDB Rating
    7.9  (1,075)