Quest For The Sea

Watch Quest For The Sea

  • 2004
  • 1 Season
  • 6.8  (30)

Quest For The Sea is a fascinating historical documentary series that focuses on the world's oceans and their importance to human life. The series originally aired in 2004 and was produced by Syndicado. The series gives an in-depth exploration of the world's oceans and their pivotal role in human history, culture, and commerce.

The series is made up of eight episodes, each of which examines different aspects of humanity's relationship with the sea. The show begins by looking at the earliest human civilizations and their dependence on the sea for food, transportation, and trade. Throughout the series, viewers are taken on a journey through different eras of history and shown how the sea shaped each one.

One episode of the series explores the era of European exploration and the Age of Discovery, looking at how oceanic voyages shaped the world and led to the colonization of much of the planet. Another episode looks at the brutal and difficult lives of fishermen and explores the struggles they face on a daily basis.

The series does not shy away from the darker aspects of humanity's relationship with the sea, exploring topics such as piracy, the slave trade, and the exploitation of natural resources. However, it also highlights the beauty and wonder of the ocean, giving viewers a glimpse into the diversity of marine life and the important role it plays in maintaining the planet's ecosystem.

The narration in the series is informative and engaging, weaving together historical facts with personal anecdotes and interviews with experts in fields such as marine biology, history, and anthropology. The visual aspect is equally impressive, with beautiful footage of oceanic landscapes, marine animals, and the people who make their living on the water.

Overall, Quest For The Sea is an excellent documentary series that explores humanity's complex relationship with the ocean. It is a thought-provoking exploration of the past, present, and future of our planet's most mysterious and intriguing feature. For anyone interested in history, marine biology, or just the incredible mysteries of the sea, this series is essential viewing.

Quest For The Sea is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (4 episodes). The series first aired on January 30, 2004.

Filter by Source

4. Re-Settlement
February 12, 2004
As the community recovers from a terrible fight, the men take to the seas to catch enough fish to pay the debt. For the final week of their summer, the families live as one as the series concludes.
The Storms of August
3. The Storms of August
February 12, 2004
After weeks of struggle the Hay Cove families finally find a rhythm, and life becomes less arduous. Inside the family homes however, storms are brewing and Hay Cove descends into bickering, insults, and tears of frustration.
King Cod
2. King Cod
February 5, 2004
The Hay Cove families struggle with their new lifestyles as they continue fishing for cod and preparing authentic meals.
A Village Called Hay Cove
1. A Village Called Hay Cove
January 30, 2004
In the first episode we are introduced to two modern families - the Wheelers and the Murray's - who experience life as it was lived in a 1937 rural Newfoundland outport fishing community.
Where to Watch Quest For The Sea
Quest For The Sea is available for streaming on the Syndicado website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Quest For The Sea on demand at Amazon, Vudu and Tubi TV.
  • Premiere Date
    January 30, 2004
  • IMDB Rating
    6.8  (30)