Watch Torchwood

  • TV-MA
  • 2006
  • 4 Seasons
  • 7.7  (43,349)

Torchwood is a British science fiction television series that first aired on BBC One in 2006. The show is a spin-off of the popular British science fiction series Doctor Who, and follows the adventures of the Torchwood Institute, a secret organisation dedicated to combating extraterrestrial and supernatural threats to the Earth.

The show begins with the arrival of Captain Jack Harkness (John Barrowman), a former Time Agent and companion of the Doctor, who is appointed leader of the newly-formed Torchwood Cardiff branch. He is joined by a team of agents including Toshiko Sato (Naoko Mori), Ianto Jones (Gareth David-Lloyd), Owen Harper (Burn Gorman), and Gwen Cooper (Eve Myles), who becomes the newest member after discovering the team's existence while investigating a supernatural event.

The team's primary mission is to investigate and contain the arrival of various alien species and technology that pose a threat to humanity. As they travel through various timelines, they also seek to unravel the mysteries surrounding the Rift, an interdimensional portal that runs through Cardiff and has the potential to cause catastrophic damage to the city and the world.

Throughout the series, the team faces a range of otherworldly threats, including rogue Time Agents, hostile ghosts, and carnivorous aliens. Along the way, they develop complex relationships with both allies and enemies, navigate complicated inter-team dynamics, and face the consequences of their own actions.

Notable recurring characters include Martha Jones (Freema Agyeman), a former companion of the Doctor who joins Torchwood after a Weevil attack; Rhys Williams (Kai Owen), Gwen's boyfriend who becomes entangled in Torchwood's operations; and PC Andy Davidson (Tom Price), a police officer who becomes a frequent collaborator of the team.

The show's cast also includes a range of international guest stars, including David Tennant, Bill Pullman, Mekhi Phifer, Lauren Ambrose, and Frances Fisher. Each guest star brings a unique perspective to the unfolding narrative, adding depth to the show's world-building and character development.

Torchwood was praised for its mature themes, complex characters, and innovative storytelling. The series tackled issues such as sexuality, mortality, and the nature of sacrifice, often in provocative and emotionally resonant ways.

Despite its popularity, Torchwood ended in 2011 after four seasons. However, its legacy has endured as a testament to the power of science fiction to challenge and inspire audiences. The show's inventive world-building, nuanced characters, and visionary storytelling continue to captivate viewers to this day, cementing its place as a classic of British science fiction television.

Torchwood is a series that is currently running and has 4 seasons (41 episodes). The series first aired on October 22, 2006.

Filter by Source

The Blood Line
10. The Blood Line
September 9, 2011
The Torchwood team launch a final, desperate mission against the seemingly undefeatable Three Families, it could come down to the ultimate sacrifice.
The Gathering
9. The Gathering
September 2, 2011
The Three Families plunge the world into a recession, the Torchwood team must strike a bargain with the devil himself.
End of the Road
8. End of the Road
August 26, 2011
Jack has a showdown with a man he thought was dead. When Rex takes extreme action, will it be too late to prevent the collapse of a society?
Immortal Sins
7. Immortal Sins
August 19, 2011
Gwen is forced to fight in order to protect her family and embarks on a journey covering both miles and decades, as the long history of the Miracle is revealed.
The Middle Men
6. The Middle Men
August 12, 2011
Gwen, Rex, and Esther are trapped on both sides of the Atlantic. Meanwhile, Jack races to the heart of the conspiracy.
The Categories of Life
5. The Categories of Life
August 5, 2011
The team go undercover and discover the shocking truth behind the Miracle.
Escape to L.A.
4. Escape to L.A.
July 29, 2011
A trap is waiting when the team travels to California to continue their fight against PhiCorp.
Dead of Night
3. Dead of Night
July 22, 2011
The team is on the run and end up discovering a new enemy.
2. Rendition
July 15, 2011
After the team is reunited, Jack realizes he is now the most vulnerable person on the planet. A trip to America by plane ends up turning into a desperate battle to stay alive.
The New World
1. The New World
July 14, 2011
The failed execution of a convicted murderer and pedophile marks the beginning of "Miracle Day." Across the globe, people become immortal. At the same time, a mysterious email draws the CIA's attention to the Torchwood Institute. Agent Rex Matheson travels to Wales to find the last known surviving member of Torchwood. Meanwhile, the world's population begins to realize the consequences on a planet of ultimately limited resources where no one dies and 500,000 children are born each day.
Where to Watch Torchwood
Torchwood is available for streaming on the BBC One website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Torchwood on demand at Max, Amazon Prime, Amazon, Vudu, BBC America, Microsoft Movies & TV, Google Play and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    October 22, 2006
  • IMDB Rating
    7.7  (43,349)