Watch When Calls the Heart

"When Calls the Heart" is a television movie series that portrays life in the 19th century Canadian West. The protagonist Elizabeth Thatcher is a young teacher who is not in the least experienced in rural life and very much so in high society. Thatcher is a school teacher, and she gets her first teaching job in Coal Valley. Coal Valley is a simple, small town in the Canadian West.

The series also focuses on the lives of newly widowed wives of coal miners. In particular, Abigail Stanton is a wife and mother, but her husband has just been killed in a coal mining explosion. Unfortunately, she and the other wives find that they too must work in the coal mines, if they want to survive. Their faith is tested, and they must work extremely hard to provide for themselves and their children.

Life is pleasant for Elizabeth Thatcher with the exception of a few challenges. Elizabeth Thatcher befriends almost everyone in town with the exception of Constable Jack Thorton. Jack believes that Elizabeth's father has ruined his career by assigning him as constable of the town in order to keep his daughter safe. Elizabeth wishes to succeed as a school teacher, but she must also learn to survive frontier life in Coal Valley.

Sunday 9:00 PM et/pt on Hallmark
3 Seasons, 20 Episodes - Returning Series
Watch Episodes

When Calls the Heart Full Episode Guide

  • The townspeople celebrate the New Year, giving Jack and Elizabeth a new start. Also, Rosemary and Lee have a new experience; and Pastor Hogan faces an unwanted guest from the past.

  • Gowen prepares for a showdown with his rival and Bill might lose his freedom because of his shady dealings.

  • Gowen's position of power is challenged and Bill seeks to move forward after he sorts out a past relationship.

  • Elizabeth is called home for an emergency, and her family continues wondering how Jack fits into her life.

Review When Calls the Heart