Life In Cold Blood

Watch Life In Cold Blood

  • 2008
  • 1 Season
  • 9.0  (2,952)

Life In Cold Blood, a BBC Earth documentary series hosted by the legendary David Attenborough, takes viewers on a captivating journey through the world of reptiles and amphibians. The series consists of five episodes, each exploring the fascinating life cycles and behaviors of these cold-blooded creatures.

The first episode, The Cold-Blooded Truth, delves into the evolution of reptiles and amphibians, examining their unique physical adaptations that allow them to thrive in almost any environment imaginable. Attenborough takes the viewer on a global journey, from the steamy jungles of South America to the frigid Arctic regions, to witness these animals in their natural habitats and learn about their survival techniques.

In episode two, Land Invaders, Attenborough explores the fascinating phenomenon of reptiles and amphibians leaving the water and taking to the land. The viewer follows the story of the green iguana, a lizard that has adapted to the humid rainforests of Central and South America, and the cane toad, an amphibian that has become an invasive species in Australia. Through stunning visuals and incredible storytelling, the episode unveils the complex and ever-changing relationship between these animals and their environments.

The third episode, Dragons of the Dry, explores the amazing survival strategies of desert-dwelling reptiles. Viewers get a close-up look at species such as the thorny devil, the sidewinder rattlesnake, and the Gila monster, learning how they have adapted to life in some of the harshest environments on Earth. We see how they endure the extreme temperatures, scorching sands, and lack of water to survive and thrive.

In episode four, Sophisticated Serpents, Attenborough takes on the formidable class of snakes. The viewer gets to meet some of the world's most venomous and deadly snakes, such as the black mamba, the king cobra, and the rattlesnake. However, the episode also reveals the incredible diversity of snakes, highlighting species such as the bullsnake, which uses mimicry to deter predators. In addition, the episode delves into the behavior of snakes, from hunting techniques to their remarkable abilities to sense vibrations and heat.

The fifth and final episode, Armored Giants, explores the world of turtles and tortoises, some of the oldest and most enigmatic reptiles on Earth. The viewer meets unique species such as the giant Galapagos tortoise, which lives for over 100 years, and the soft-shelled turtle, which has adapted to live in the murky waters of Southeast Asia. Through Attenborough's engaging narration and stunning visuals, we learn about the complex behaviors and life cycles of these fascinating creatures.

Overall, Life In Cold Blood is an awe-inspiring documentary series that reveals the incredible diversity and beauty of reptiles and amphibians. With David Attenborough's signature storytelling style and stunning cinematography, the series draws the viewer in and takes them on a compelling journey through the world of these often-maligned creatures. It's a must-watch for any nature enthusiast or fan of David Attenborough's brilliant work.

Life In Cold Blood is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (5 episodes). The series first aired on February 4, 2008.

Life In Cold Blood
Filter by Source

Do you have Hulu?
What are you waiting for?
Nice! Browse Hulu with Yidio.
Ad Info - This show may not be available on Hulu
Armoured Giants
5. Armoured Giants
March 3, 2008
The intimate lives of some of the largest and most impressive animals alive today - crocodiles, turtles and tortoises - are revealed in this final program. All of them are covered in thick scales that have turned into armor, yet, despite their tough exteriors, these animals are capable of astonishing behavior and warm-hearted interaction.
Sophisticated Serpents
4. Sophisticated Serpents
February 25, 2008
David Attenborough examines the fascinating lives of the most misunderstood group of reptiles - the snakes - and reveals that their simplistic body design has contributed to their success.
Dragons of the Dry
3. Dragons of the Dry
February 18, 2009
From iguanas emerging out of a tropical swamp to a face-to-face encounter with a monitor lizard in the Australian desert, David Attenborough traces the lizards' colonisation of the Earth as they ultimately became the Dragons Of The Dry.
Invaders of the Land
2. Invaders of the Land
February 11, 2008
Among chorusing frogs in Panama, Sir David Attenborough asks how amphibians first managed to invade the land. The Australian lungfish, an ancient relative of the amphibians that can breathe air, and the giant Japanese salamander, one of the largest amphibians on Earth, give vital clues about their first tentative steps.
The Cold-Blooded Truth
1. The Cold-Blooded Truth
February 4, 2008
Reptiles and amphibians are as dramatic in combat, colorful in their communication and tender in their parental care as other animals. They also live their lives on a totally different time scale and harness their energy from the sun. The Cold-Blooded Truth reveals the secret of their success.
Where to Watch Life In Cold Blood
Life In Cold Blood is available for streaming on the BBC Earth website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Life In Cold Blood on demand at Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    February 4, 2008
  • IMDB Rating
    9.0  (2,952)