Watch Marchlands

  • N/A
  • 1970
  • 1 Season
  • 7.8  (54)

Marchlands is a gripping six-part drama series that originally aired on ITV in 2011. It tells the story of three different families who all lived in the same house in different time periods, and who are all connected by a tragic event that occurred there in the 1960s.

The show opens in 1968, with the Maynard family moving into their new home in Marchlands. Ruth (played by Alex Kingston) and Paul (played by Dean Andrews) are excited to start their new life together with their young daughter, Alice (played by Honor Kneafsey). However, things take a dark turn when Alice begins to communicate with the ghost of a young girl who died in the house years before. As Alice becomes more and more obsessed with the ghost, her parents grow increasingly worried about her mental health.

In the present day, a young couple, Mark (played by Elliot Cowan) and Nisha (played by Shelley Conn) move into the same house with their daughter, Cat (played by Tasha Connor). As they begin to renovate the property, they uncover hidden secrets from the past, including a mysterious journal belonging to Alice Maynard.

Finally, in 1987, we meet the Yates family, who also lived in the same house. Helen (played by Jodie Whittaker) and Eddie (played by Jamie Thomas King) are struggling to cope after the tragic death of their daughter, Amy. As they try to come to terms with their grief, they begin to experience strange and unexplainable events in the house.

Throughout the series, we see how the experiences of each family are subtly interconnected, with past events affecting the lives of the present-day characters. The relationships between the different families are gradually revealed, layer by layer, until the shocking truth about what really happened in Marchlands is finally uncovered.

The show explores themes of grief, loss, and the supernatural, using clever storytelling techniques to create a haunting and compelling atmosphere. The performances of the talented ensemble cast are particularly noteworthy, with each actor bringing depth and complexity to their respective roles.

Overall, Marchlands is a moving and thought-provoking drama that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the very end. Whether you're a fan of ghost stories or simply enjoy a well-crafted mystery, this series is definitely worth watching.

Filter by Source
No sources available
Marchlands - E05
5. Marchlands - E05
January 1, 1970
The chilling supernatural drama series comes to a close. The story follows three families living in the same remote house in three different time periods: 1968, 1987 and 2010. Each family is linked by the tragic death of eight-year-old Alice in the 1960s, and this week's gripping final episode sees the decades-old mystery solved at last. In 1968, Paul asks a distressed Ruth to leave Marchlands and come away with him. But will Ruth be able to leave Alice behind? Meanwhile, things come to a head between Robert and Evelyn. In 1987, Eddie and Helen are still at loggerheads. Eddie decides to take Amy to visit Alice's grave, but while they are out, Scott suffers a seizure in the bath - and his head slips under the water. In 2010, Nisha is shocked when she discovers that Mark has lied to her about the history of the house. An emotional Ruth finally finds out what happened to her daughter decades earlier. Can Alice rest at last?
Episode 3
3. Episode 3
January 1, 1970
Chilling drama series about three families living in the same remote house in three different time periods, each linked to the others by the tragic death of a young girl named Alice in the 1960s. In 1968, grieving couple Ruth and Paul clash after they discover that they are unlikely to be able to have any more children - and Paul blames Ruth for their daughter Alice's death. A devastated Ruth storms out, and ends up at a wild party in Leeds. In 1987, Eddie and Helen are divided on how to deal with their daughter Amy. Is Amy ill or is her 'imaginary friend' Alice a genuine ghost? Later, while Eddie uncovers some intriguing details about Alice, an isolated Scott suffers a seizure. In 2010, Nisha gives birth to a baby girl, and the older Ruth is shocked to hear that she will be named Alice. Mark reprimands Nisha for recreating the original Alice's old bedroom but then Nisha discovers that Mark has not been completely truthful about his past in the village.
  • Premiere Date
    January 1, 1970
  • IMDB Rating
    7.8  (54)