United States of Tara

Watch United States of Tara

  • TV-MA
  • 2009
  • 3 Seasons
  • 8.0  (24,820)

United States of Tara is a groundbreaking TV show that premiered on Showtime in 2009 and ran for three seasons. The show is a family drama that explores the life of Tara (Toni Collette), a suburban wife and mother who has dissociative identity disorder (DID), a condition that causes her to switch between different personalities.

At the start of the series, Tara lives with her husband Max (John Corbett) and two teenage children, Kate (Brie Larson) and Marshall (Keir Gilchrist). Her life is stable, but she starts to experience gaps in her memory and disturbing visions. It soon becomes clear that Tara has alters, or separate personalities, that she created as a coping mechanism to deal with her abusive childhood.

Tara's alters are as different from each other as they are from Tara herself. There is T, a chain-smoking, beer-swilling, tough-talking biker; Alice, a perfect 1950s housewife; Buck, a hypersexual male; and Gimme, a teenage girl who loves pop music and fashion. Each of the alters is fully realized by the show's writers and supported by the outstanding performances of the entire cast. In particular, Toni Collette's portrayal of each of Tara's alters is masterful, and she won an Emmy Award for her role in the show.

The show doesn't shy away from exploring the challenges that Tara's disorder creates for her family. Max is supportive but also frustrated with the unpredictability of Tara's behavior. Marshall struggles to come to terms with his mother's condition, and Kate has her own issues with relationships and self-discovery. The show does an excellent job of balancing the drama with humor and heart, and the family's journey feels real and relatable.

One of the biggest strengths of the show is its willingness to explore the origins of Tara's disorder. Through flashbacks and therapy sessions, we learn about the trauma that Tara experienced as a child and how that led to the creation of her alters. These scenes are at times difficult to watch, but they are essential to understanding Tara's story and the impact that trauma can have on a person's life.

The show also explores larger themes of identity, gender roles, and mental health. Alice's character, in particular, challenges the traditional suburban housewife stereotype and shows how expectations of gender can be limiting. Buck's hypersexuality raises questions about the nature of desire and whether it can be separated from other aspects of identity.

Overall, United States of Tara is a show that pushes boundaries and challenges the viewer to think about the complexities of mental health and identity. It's also a show that features strong writing and exceptional performances from its entire cast. If you're looking for a show that will make you laugh, cry, and think, then United States of Tara is a must-watch.

United States of Tara is a series that is currently running and has 3 seasons (36 episodes). The series first aired on January 18, 2009.

United States of Tara
Filter by Source

The Good Parts
12. The Good Parts
June 20, 2011
Tara and Max prepare to leave for Boston to see a specialist for Tara.
Crunchy Ice
11. Crunchy Ice
June 13, 2011
When Bryce takes over, Tara's new alter threatens to destroy the whole family. Max fights to get rid of Bryce before it's too late.
Train Wreck
10. Train Wreck
June 6, 2011
A heavily-medicated Tara struggles to get rid of any trace of her violent alter Bryce before Max and Marshall return. Neil tries to convince Charmaine to move to Houston.
Bryce Will Play
9. Bryce Will Play
May 23, 2011
Dr. Hattaras and Tara team up with another professional to deal with her violent new alter Bryce; Charmaine hangs out with a group of "chic moms;" Kate continues her long distance relationship with Evan despite the interference of his son.
Chicken 'n' Corn
8. Chicken 'n' Corn
May 16, 2011
A scare at a local corn maze shakes Tara up. She unveils a new alter that threatens Charmaine's baby and arrives at Dr. Hattaras' office as Alice; Kate takes Max and Marshall to New York where they meet Evan and his unruly son; Charmaine meets a "fierce mommy" at a spa.
The Electrifying & Magnanimouse Return of Beaverlamp
7. The Electrifying & Magnanimouse Return of Beaverlamp
May 9, 2011
Max is delighted by Tara's suggestion that he reunite his rock band; Tara is turned away from further sessions by a depressed Dr. Hattaras.
The Road to Hell is Paved with Breast Intentions
6. The Road to Hell is Paved with Breast Intentions
May 2, 2011
Although Tara seems to be improving, Dr. Hattaras discovers something disturbing in a tape from one of her therapy sessions; Neil invites Tara and Charmaine's mother to visit; Max is unhappy at his new job but does not discuss it with Tara; Kate is surprised when a handsome flyer rebuffs her flirting.
Dr. Hatteras' Miracle Elixir
5. Dr. Hatteras' Miracle Elixir
April 25, 2011
Tara attempts to drop her Abnormal Psychology class until Dr. Hattaras makes an intriguing offer; Charmaine and Neil find parenthood difficult but still refuse Tara's help; Max is not on good terms with his new boss; Kate prepares for flight attendant training; Lionel catches Marshall with Noah, jeopardizing their student film project.
4. Wheels
April 18, 2011
Tara and Charmaine are rushed to the hospital in the same ambulance and Charmaine reveals that her baby is off limits to her crazy sister.
The Full F**k You Finger
3. The Full F**k You Finger
April 11, 2011
The stress of juggling school and Charmaine's baby shower causes Tara to transition, with negative consequences for Charmaine; to sell the family business, Max must get the approval of his eccentric mother; Kate meets a flight attendant who inspires a new idea about her future.
2. Crackerjack
April 4, 2011
Tara transitions into her psychiatrist alter Shoshanna in her Abnormal Psychology class and is humiliated by her professor.
1. ...youwillnotwin...
March 28, 2011
Tara is determined to finish the last few credits she needs to earn her college degree, but Max is concerned that the stress will trigger a transition to one of her alters.
Where to Watch United States of Tara
United States of Tara is available for streaming on the Showtime website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch United States of Tara on demand at Showtime, Paramount+, Amazon Prime, Amazon, Vudu, FuboTV, Sling, Google Play, Apple TV and Showtime Anytime.
  • Premiere Date
    January 18, 2009
  • IMDB Rating
    8.0  (24,820)