Vietnam: The US Government Collection

Watch Vietnam: The US Government Collection

  • 1969
  • 1 Season

Vietnam: The US Government Collection is a documentary show that explores the course of the Vietnam War through hundreds of hours of footage collected by the US Government during the conflict. The show offers an in-depth look at the war from various perspectives, including that of the US military, the Vietnamese forces, and the everyday civilians who were impacted by the conflict.

The collection includes a vast array of footage, from raw combat footage to interviews with soldiers to intimate footage of families living in Vietnam during the war. The show's creators have compiled this footage in a way that tells a compelling story of the war and its after-effects. The show is divided into several episodes, each one exploring a different aspect of the war.

One of the strengths of the show is that it presents multiple perspectives on the war. Viewers will see footage of the US military in action, as well as interviews with soldiers reflecting on their experiences. There is also footage of the Vietnamese forces, which offers a different perspective on the war. Additionally, the show includes footage of everyday Vietnamese citizens going about their lives during the war, which provides a humanizing element to the conflict. Overall, the show's creators have done an excellent job of piecing together these disparate perspectives into a coherent narrative.

Another strength of the show is its use of archival footage. The footage included in the show is of high quality, and viewers will be struck by how vivid and raw the footage looks. Some of the footage has rarely been seen before, which makes it all the more engaging. Additionally, the show includes some historical context that helps ground the viewer in the time period. Viewers will learn about the political climate in the US during the war, as well as the broader geopolitical context of the conflict.

One of the most interesting aspects of the show is its exploration of the psychological toll of the war. Viewers will see soldiers struggling with PTSD and grappling with the moral complexities of the conflict. The show highlights the ways in which the war impacted soldiers long after they returned home, and this makes for some of the most powerful moments in the series.

Overall, Vietnam: The US Government Collection is a well-crafted documentary series that offers a nuanced look at the Vietnam War. The show's use of archival footage is impressive, and viewers will be struck by the scope of the collection. The show's creators have done an excellent job of presenting multiple perspectives on the war, which makes for a more complete picture of the conflict. Additionally, the show's exploration of the psychological toll of the war adds a humanizing element to the story. Anyone interested in the Vietnam War will find this series to be a worthwhile watch.

Filter by Source
No sources available
Volume 9
9. Volume 9
Chapters: 1: The Sparrow Hawks. 2: The Battle. 3: Sand and Steel. 4: Khe Sanh Victory for Air Power. 5: No Substitute for Victory. 6: Controlling the Seas.
Volume 8
8. Volume 8
Chapters: 1: The Gentle Hand. 2: Family Life. 3: 82nd Airborne Division. 4: On the Ground. 5: Full Blade. 6: Another Day of War.
Volume 7
7. Volume 7
Chapters: 1: Marines 1965. 2: Neutral Corridor. 3: Naval Support. 4: POW: A Report on Captivity in SE Asia. 5: A Few Good Men. 6: The Big Picture.
Volume 6
6. Volume 6
Chapters: 1: Hall of Heroes. 2: Know Your Enemy: The Viet Cong. 3: Progress to Peace. 4: American Navy in Vietnam. 5: The Unique War. 6: US Air Force in Vietnam.
Volume 5
5. Volume 5
Chapters: 1: Vietnam! Vietnam! 2: Hospitals. 3: Rescued Prisoners. 4: Struggles at Home. 5: Vietnam-the Debate. 6: The Airmobile Division.
Volume 4
4. Volume 4
Chapters: 1: Vietnam Crucible. 2: Psychological Warfare. 3: The Battle of Khe Sanh. 4: Agony at the Khe Sanh. 5: 1st Infantry Division. 6: AirStrip Battle.
Volume 3
3. Volume 3
January 1, 1970
Chapters: 1: A Day in Vietnam. 2: Aircraft Carrier. 3: Screaming Eagles in Vietnam. 4: Operation Hawthorn. 5: River Patrol. 6: Monsoons.
Volume 2
2. Volume 2
Chapters: 1: A Nation Builds Under Fire. 2: Final Outcome. 3: To Save a Soldier. 4: Rescue. 5: No Expense Spared. 6: Transformed Flight. 7: War and Advice. 8: Desertion. 9: The 9th Infantry Division. 10: Inter-Service Operation. 11: Contact. 12: Patrol.
Volume 1
1. Volume 1
Chapters: 1: The Hidden War in Vietnam. 2: Captain Shackleton. 3: Why Vietnam. 4: Open Warfare. 5: Night of the Dragon. 6: Free People
  • Premiere Date
    December 31, 1969