Watch ThunderCats (1985)

Thundercats is the title of a pair of animated programs feature anthropomorphic feline heroes and heroines. The original series debuted back in the 1980's and had an initial pool of eight actors for voice talent. The revival series came out in the early 2010s, with a different actor for just about every named role. While both shows feature the same characters, the latter series went for a more fleshed out style compared to the original series' threat-of-the-week theme. The original series lasted an impressive 110 episodes when counting the hour-long pilot and movie, and four seasons. The current 2010's series finished a single season, with enough material remaining to continue with a second season.

The heroes, known as the Thundercats, are led by Lion-O. However, in both incarnations of the show, Lion-O must earn the title of "Lord of the Thundercats" by completing a series of tasks given to him by the other Thundercats. These trials included the Trial of Strength, administered by the martial artist and technician Panthro; the Trial of Speed, administered by the alluring speedster Cheetara; the Trial of Cunning, administered by the child Thunderkittens WilyKit and WilyKat; and the Trial of Mind Power administered by the illusionist and tactician Tigra (also Lion-O's half-brother in the 2010 series). The fifth trial, the Trial of Evil is completed when Lion-O defeats Mumm-Ra, the major villain of both series, by recalling the methods he used to defeat the other trials administered by his comrades.

The main antagonist of both series begins with Mumm-Ra and Slithe, the reptilian leader of an army of anthropomorphic lizardfolk of various castes. The 1980's series also included anthropmorphic vulture and jackal characters from the start, whereas the 2010's series added these characters much later on in the first season and even went as far as giving them specific names instead of generic names derived from their animal species; i.e. Monkian and Jackalman became Addicus and Kaynar.

Kids WB
4 Seasons, 145 Episodes - Canceled
September 23, 1985
Animation & Cartoons
Watch Episodes

ThunderCats (1985) Full Episode Guide

  • The ThunderCats finally open the Book of Omens. The Guardian of the Book explains that the ancient artifacts they have gathered must be presented at four different locations at precisely five clicks before the twenty-fourth hour or the ThunderCats will be frozen in time and the new ThunDERa torn apart by earthquakes.

  • The ThunderCats build a Homing Beacon Tower just in time to guide a group of Thundarian refugees back to the planet.

  • Vultureman hijacks a space bookmobile to escape Captain Bragg's Circus Train. On board, he learns of the powerful Rosencranz Medallion that once belonged to Mumm-Ra's arch rival Zaxx.

  • Amortus, an evil tentacled creature banished eons ago by the Thunderians, has returned to the new ThunDERa through Mumm-Ra's cauldron.

Review ThunderCats (1985)