Case Histories

Watch Case Histories

  • 2011
  • 2 Seasons
  • 7.9  (4,732)

Case Histories is a British crime drama series produced by BBC One that ran from 2011 to 2013. The show was based on the Jackson Brodie novels by Kate Atkinson and starred Jason Isaacs in the lead role. The series consists of two seasons with a total of six episodes each.

The show follows Jackson Brodie, a complicated and brooding detective who specializes in solving cold cases. He is a former soldier turned private investigator who is haunted by his past and has a complicated personal life. Throughout the series, Brodie takes on a variety of cases that range from missing persons and murders to cases that seem to have an emotional connection to him personally.

The cases that Brodie takes on often overlap with his own complex personal life. His relationships with his ex-wife Julia, his teenage daughter Marlee, and his live-in girlfriend Louise are all explored throughout the series. The show also delves into his past, including the disappearance of his sister when he was a child and his time spent in the military.

The first season of the show focuses on Brodie’s investigation into a series of seemingly unconnected cases. In the premiere episode, “Case Histories,” Brodie takes on the case of a woman searching for her sister, who disappeared thirty years earlier. In “Jackson and the Women,” he is hired by an actress to find her missing husband, while in “Nobody’s Darling,” he investigates the murder of a young girl in Edinburgh.

The second season of the series sees Brodie taking on three new cases. In “Started Early, Took My Dog,” Brodie is hired by a woman who is searching for her birth parents and ends up getting involved in a murder investigation. In “Nobody’s Fool,” he investigates the suspicious death of a wealthy businessman, and in the final episode, “Jackson and the Question of Faith,” Brodie takes on a missing person’s case that hits incredibly close to home.

Throughout both seasons of Case Histories, the show weaves together complex storylines that are told through flashbacks and Brodie’s own introspection. The series is filled with numerous characters that all have their own complicated backstories and motivations.

One of the standout aspects of the show is its setting. The series is primarily set in Edinburgh, Scotland, and the picturesque city is used to great effect. The show takes full advantage of the city’s beautiful architecture and landscapes, creating an atmosphere filled with both charm and mystery.

Another aspect that sets Case Histories apart is its blend of humor and drama. While the show is primarily a serious drama, it often adds in moments of comedy to lighten the mood. The show’s quirky characters and dry humor add a unique flavor to the proceedings, giving the series a distinct tone that sets it apart from other crime dramas.

The performances in the series are excellent, particularly Jason Isaacs in the lead role. Isaacs brings a depth and intensity to Brodie, imbuing the character with a sense of melancholy and brooding intelligence. He is surrounded by a talented cast, including Amanda Abbington, Natasha Little, and Kirsty Mitchell, who all do fantastic work.

In conclusion, Case Histories is a complex and engaging crime drama that is sure to satisfy fans of the genre. The show’s blend of humor, drama, and mystery creates a unique and engrossing atmosphere, and its talented cast brings the characters to life with an emotional depth that is rarely seen in crime dramas. Overall, Case Histories is a standout series that is not to be missed.

Case Histories is a series that is currently running and has 2 seasons (12 episodes). The series first aired on June 5, 2011.

Case Histories
Filter by Source

Jackson and the Women (2)
6. Jackson and the Women (2)
June 2, 2013
Summary is not available.
Jackson and the Women (1)
5. Jackson and the Women (1)
June 2, 2013
Jackson attempts to help a teenage boy who has grown up in the shadow of his murdered mother to learn how she really died. He also has a dilemma of his own to deal with as a past case threatens his future.
Nobody's Darling (2)
4. Nobody's Darling (2)
May 26, 2013
Summary is not available.
Nobody's Darling (1)
3. Nobody's Darling (1)
May 26, 2013
A woman believes that her daughter's riding accident was murder and as he investigates Jackson Brodie needs to confront some tough truths of his own.
Started Early, Took My Dog (2)
2. Started Early, Took My Dog (2)
May 19, 2013
A young woman hires Brodie to see if her fiancé is cheating on her and during his inquiries he is also hired by the man's ex-mother-in-law, who suspects the fiancé of murdering her daughter. As a straightforward investigation turns into a cold case, matters get more complicated on the domestic front when Brodie's daughter, Marlee, moves in with him.
Started Early, Took My Dog (1)
1. Started Early, Took My Dog (1)
May 19, 2013
Now back in Edinburgh following a child-snatching job in Munich, Jackson finds it hard to deal with guilt about whether he returned the child to the right parent or if he was conned. After Hope McMaster, a woman looking for her birth parents, approaches Jackson for help, he finds his search taking him into the centre of 1979 police corruption and murder.
Where to Watch Case Histories
Case Histories is available for streaming on the BBC One website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Case Histories on demand at Amazon Prime, Peacock and Plex.
  • Premiere Date
    June 5, 2011
  • IMDB Rating
    7.9  (4,732)