Gu Family Book

Watch Gu Family Book

  • TV-Y
  • 2013
  • 1 Season
  • 7.9  (1,958)

Gu Family Book is a South Korean historical fantasy drama that aired on MBC in 2013. The show stars Lee Seung-gi as Choi Kang-chi, a half-human, half-mythical creature known as a gumiho. Bae Suzy plays Yoon Seo-hwa, a nobleman's daughter who is forced to live a life of hardship after her family is betrayed and murdered. Together, Kang-chi and Seo-hwa embark on a journey to uncover the truth about their past and their connection to the Gu Family Book, a mystical tome that holds the secret to Kang-chi's true identity.

The story of Gu Family Book is set in the Joseon period of Korean history, a time when romance, politics, and supernatural elements intertwine. The show opens with a prologue that establishes the myth of the gumiho, a fox with nine tails that can transform into a human. Kang-chi is the son of a gumiho and a human woman, born with the ability to shapeshift into a ferocious beast when threatened. However, Kang-chi grows up not knowing who his real parents are or where he comes from.

Yoon Seo-hwa is introduced as a dignified noblewoman who is forced to flee from her home with her younger brother after their father's treason is discovered. Seo-hwa and her brother are pursued by a band of ruthless killers, forcing them to live in hiding and disguise their true identities. When Kang-chi and Seo-hwa cross paths, they form a bond that will change their lives forever.

As the story progresses, Kang-chi and Seo-hwa encounter numerous challenges and obstacles, including betrayal, love triangles, power struggles, and battles with supernatural creatures. Along the way, they enlist the help of allies such as Wol-ryung (played by Choi Jin-hyuk), Kang-chi's father and a fellow gumiho. Wol-ryung teaches Kang-chi how to control his inner beast and unlocks the secrets of the Gu Family Book.

Other notable characters in Gu Family Book include Jo Seong-ha as Dam Pyeong-joon, a fishing village patriarch who harbors a secret connection to Kang-chi's past; Lee Sung-jae as Jo Gwan-woong, a powerful and corrupt government official who seeks to obtain the Gu Family Book for his own gain; and Yoo Yeon-seok as Park Tae-seo, a skilled warrior and member of a secret organization that protects the Joseon dynasty.

In addition to its compelling storyline, Gu Family Book is known for its lush visuals, intricate costumes, and stunning fight scenes. The show seamlessly blends historical drama with elements of romance, comedy, and action, making it a must-watch for fans of Korean television.

Overall, Gu Family Book is a thrilling and emotionally resonant drama that explores themes of identity, family, and destiny. The chemistry between the lead actors, Lee Seung-gi and Bae Suzy, is palpable, and the supporting cast delivers standout performances throughout the series. If you're looking for a riveting historical drama with a touch of the supernatural, Gu Family Book is definitely worth checking out.

Gu Family Book is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (24 episodes). The series first aired on April 8, 2013.

Gu Family Book
Filter by Source

Episode 24
24. Episode 24
June 25, 2013
Kangchi and Yi Sushin are determined to take down Jo Kwanung's tyranny. Yi Sushin brings the army to the forest eager to catch him.
Episode 23
23. Episode 23
June 24, 2013
Kangchi leaves Youl for her own safety. There is treachery from amongst one of Youl's disciples.
Episode 22
22. Episode 22
June 18, 2013
Kangchi and Wolyong have their first real father-son moment. Youl struggles to deal with letting go of Kangchi so he can look for the Book of the Nine.
Episode 21
21. Episode 21
June 17, 2013
Kangchi battles Wolyong to defend his mother and finally gets to spend quality time with her. In the meantime, Kwanung makes good use of his new musket.
Episode 20
20. Episode 20
June 11, 2013
Jo Kwanung and Wolyong come face to face, but Wolyong doesn't remember him. Meanwhile, Master Dam and Kangchi begin a duel to the death.
Episode 19
19. Episode 19
June 10, 2013
As Jo Kwanung tries to force Sohwa to reveal her true identity, Youl hatches a plan to rescue Kangchi.
Episode 18
18. Episode 18
June 4, 2013
Kangchi finds out how his father was killed. Jo Kwanung finally sees Sohwa's face and hatches a plan to capture Kangchi.
Episode 17
17. Episode 17
June 3, 2013
Youl and Kangchi sneak into Century House to steal the map. Jo Kwanung starts questioning Sohwa's identity...
Episode 16
16. Episode 16
May 28, 2013
When Kongdal is attacked, Kangchi becomes public enemy number one in the camp. Meanwhile, Jo Kwanung is determined to out Kangchi as a demon's child.
Episode 15
15. Episode 15
May 27, 2013
Youl finds out that her father killed Kangchi's father twenty years ago. Jo Kwanung tests Taeso to see if he is really on his side...
Episode 14
14. Episode 14
May 21, 2013
Kangchi meets up with Chongjo at the lantern festival. The head of the Inner Circle is disappointed with Madame Chon's performance.
Episode 13
13. Episode 13
May 20, 2013
Everyone is suspicious of Kangchi as Wolyong returns and Chongio becomes a courtesan.
Episode 12
12. Episode 12
May 14, 2013
Chongjo discovers Kangchi's true identity. Jo Kwanung is welcomed by guests from the Inner Circle.
Episode 11
11. Episode 11
May 13, 2013
Everyone tries to save Chongjo from the Courtesan House. Youl helps Kangchi and Chongjo escape.
Episode 10
10. Episode 10
May 7, 2013
On this episode the battle for the bullion begins. In the meantime Chongjo is stuck at the courtesan house.
Episode 9
9. Episode 9
May 6, 2013
Kangchi gets treated at the academy, whilst they try to come up with a plan to get into Pak Musol's secret vault.
Episode 8
8. Episode 8
Kangchi is saved by Yi Sunshin. He tells Sojung that he needs to find the Gu Family Book.
Episode 7
7. Episode 7
April 29, 2013
Kangchi finds out his true identity and tries to get back at Jo Kwangung. Chongjo gets sold to the courtesan house.
Episode 6
6. Episode 6
April 23, 2013
Sojung hides Kangchi while his family gets arrested. Kangchi tries to save them, but is faced with danger when he is chased by Jo Kwanung's men.
Episode 5
5. Episode 5
April 22, 2013
Kangchi and Youl catch one of the assassins. Pak Musol faces danger as Jo Kwanung accuses him of treason.
Episode 4
4. Episode 4
April 16, 2013
Lord Jo Kwanung threatens Pak Musol. Yuwool remembers Kangchi from her childhood
Episode 3
3. Episode 3
April 15, 2013
Lady Pak dislikes Kangchi and Chongjo's relationship and tries to send him away.
Episode 2
2. Episode 2
April 9, 2013
Wolyong falls in love with Sohwa and asks her to marry him. He searches for the Book of the Nine to become human, however their sad fate misguides them...
Episode 1
1. Episode 1
April 8, 2013
Sohwa gets sold into service after her father is brutally murdered by Jo Kwangung. Wolyong saves Sohwa as she tries to escape...
Where to Watch Gu Family Book
Gu Family Book is available for streaming on the MBC America website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Gu Family Book on demand at and Viki.
  • Premiere Date
    April 8, 2013
  • IMDB Rating
    7.9  (1,958)