I Am Jazz

Watch I Am Jazz

  • TV-14
  • 2015
  • 8 Seasons
  • 4.3  (1,111)

I Am Jazz is a reality television show that premiered on the TLC network in July of 2015. The show follows the life of Jazz Jennings, a teenage transgender girl who is determined to live her life as authentically as possible. Jazz, who was born a boy, identified as female from a very young age and began living as a girl with the support of her family when she was just five years old.

Throughout the series, viewers get to see Jazz navigate the challenges of being a transgender girl in a society that is still learning how to accept and understand gender identity. Jazz is an incredibly bright and articulate young woman, and she is a fierce advocate for LGBTQ rights. She uses her platform on the show to educate others about the transgender community and to challenge stereotypes and misconceptions.

One of the main themes of the show is Jazz's journey to undergo gender confirmation surgery. Viewers see Jazz and her family navigate the complex medical system in order to find a surgeon who is skilled in performing the procedure on a transgender teenager. Jazz is open and honest about the physical and emotional challenges of the procedure, and she shares her fears and hopes with viewers throughout her journey.

Another important aspect of the show is Jazz's friendships and relationships. She has a tight-knit group of friends who support her through the ups and downs of teenage life, and she also has a boyfriend, Ahmir. Jazz and Ahmir's relationship is an important exploration of what it means to be a transgender girl in a romantic relationship, and viewers get to see the couple navigate difficult conversations about identity and sexuality.

The show also features Jazz's supportive and loving family. Her parents, Jeanette and Greg, are understanding of her identity and work tirelessly to ensure that she can be who she is without fear of discrimination or harassment. Jazz's siblings, Ari and Sander, also feature prominently in the show, and viewers get to see the typical sibling dynamics of fighting and teasing alongside the unwavering support and love that they have for each other.

Throughout the series, Jazz faces many challenges that are unique to her experience as a transgender girl. She deals with bullying and harassment from her peers, as well as anxiety and depression related to her gender dysphoria. However, she never gives up on her path to living as her true self, and she remains a beacon of hope and inspiration for viewers.

I Am Jazz is an important show that shines a light on the struggles and triumphs of transgender youth. By sharing her story with the world, Jazz is helping to break down barriers and create a more accepting and inclusive society. The show has been praised for its frank and honest portrayal of transgender issues, and it has been instrumental in helping to raise awareness and understanding of the transgender community.

I Am Jazz is a series that is currently running and has 8 seasons (71 episodes). The series first aired on July 15, 2015.

I Am Jazz
Filter by Source

Do you have Hulu?
What are you waiting for?
Nice! Browse Hulu with Yidio.
Ad Info - This show may not be available on Hulu
Back to School
6. Back to School
February 28, 2023
Jazz heads back to Cambridge and meets her newest crush; before the sophomore gets too settled, Harvard shares news of a disturbing death threat that complicates a transgender awareness event Jazz is eager to put on.
February 21, 2023
Jazz and Yash conclude their first date but land on different pages. Jazz hopes attending a queer speed dating event with Jaclyn will lighten the blow. Meanwhile, Jazz starts to doubt her commitment to Harvard, but telling her parents is another story.
Clavicles Are the New Black
4. Clavicles Are the New Black
February 14, 2023
Jazz rejects Dayron's kiss, sets a date with an older man, and faces the staggering question of whether she's asexual. Just as soon as Jeanette finds a way to let her daughter go, Jazz's anxiety boils over. Meanwhile, Jaclyn and Tyler meet a trans icon.
These Boots Are Made for Walkin'
3. These Boots Are Made for Walkin'
February 7, 2023
Following Jazz's meltdown, Jeanette outsources help but gets disturbing feedback. Meanwhile, Jazz goes on her first date in four years. Nervous over a kiss, she tries her best to stay out of her head but struggles when a dance lesson goes awry.
Mommy Dearest
2. Mommy Dearest
January 31, 2023
Jazz asserts her freedom after her mum crashes the after-party, but when she locks in a date with a new suitor amid a hailstorm of transphobia, her world comes crashing down around her, and there's only one person she wants.
A Night at the Selfie Museum
1. A Night at the Selfie Museum
January 17, 2023
Jeanette keeps a sharp eye on Jazz as she struggles after returning home.
Where to Watch I Am Jazz
I Am Jazz is available for streaming on the TLC website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch I Am Jazz on demand at Max, Discovery+, Amazon Prime, Philo, Amazon, Vudu, TLC, FuboTV, Google Play and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    July 15, 2015
  • IMDB Rating
    4.3  (1,111)