Soul Eater

Watch Soul Eater

  • TV-14
  • 2008
  • 3 Seasons
  • 7.8  (14,459)

Soul Eater is an anime based on the manga of the same name. The show centers around the exploits Maka and her weapon, Soul Eater, at the Death Weapon Meister Academy. The DWMA was established by the Grim Reaper, Lord Death, to keep the world safe from the forces of supernatural evil.

Aimed at an older audience, with its MA-14 rating for American television, the show has all of the typically quirky characters Americans have come to expect from anime. Maka resents her father, Death Scythe, for cheating on her mother. Soul Eater, or Soul as he is often called, transforms into Maka's weapon and quests to be not only a death scythe himself (by consuming the souls of evil), but wants to be the coolest boy around.

The character of the Grim Reaper is whimsical and comical, and has a tendency to slap around Maka's father when he steps out of line or says something stupid (which is often). Death Scythe, Maka's father, is a well-known player with the ladies, and while his cheating is what has caused Maka's hatred of him and his ongoing divorce, the fact that Maka despises him often sense him into hysterical crying fits.

The art style of the anime is likewise whimsical in nature, with exaggerated poses and movements. Though there is no extremely graphic violence or full on nudity, blood is shown and there are several risque scenes in the first episode alone. Take the MA-14 rating of the show to heart.

The main antagonists of the show are the kishin, who are the souls of weapon meisters and death scythes who have eaten human souls and thus become corrupted. To become a death scythe, a weapon must consume 99 kinshin souls and the soul of a single witch. The first episode begins with Soul and Maka collecting their 99th kinshin soul and failing to capture the final witch soul (tricked by Blair the cat), causing all of the souls they had accumulated so far to be confiscated and forcing them to start over.

As the series continues, more characters are introduced as more weapon meisters and weapons, including Maka and Soul, must take remedial classes to help them in their soul collecting duties. These characters form the core of the group of protagonists for the show. There are currently two seasons of the show airing in America.

Soul Eater is a series that is currently running and has 3 seasons (69 episodes). The series first aired on April 7, 2008.

Soul Eater
Filter by Source

The Word is Bravery!
12. The Word is Bravery!
March 30, 2009
With her friends fallen, Maka must find the strength to face the Kishin alone. The world is in jeopardy and evil is poised for certain victory - until something stirs deep inside the young Meister's heart.
Lord Death Wields a Death Scythe - Just One Step from Utter Darkness?
9. Lord Death Wields a Death Scythe - Just One Step from Utter Darkness?
March 9, 2009
The Kishin and the Grim Reaper tear into each other with unimaginable levels of power. Before this ultimate clash between good and evil concludes, great sacrifices will be made.
Warrior or Slaughterer? Showdown: Mifune vs. Black☆Star?
7. Warrior or Slaughterer? Showdown: Mifune vs. Black☆Star?
February 23, 2009
The final confrontation between Black☆Star and Mifune begins! As the warriors clash, Mifune reveals a startling connection to the young Meister's past.
The Cards are Cut - Medusa Surrenders to the DWMA?
1. The Cards are Cut - Medusa Surrenders to the DWMA?
January 12, 2009
Medusa offers Death a deal: in exchange for her release, she'll reveal the Kishin's location. The Grim Reaper won't have long to decide - Arachne is on the verge of releasing madness on a global scale!
Where to Watch Soul Eater
Soul Eater is available for streaming on the TV Tokyo website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Soul Eater on demand at Amazon Prime, Hulu, Apple TV and Crunchyroll.
  • Premiere Date
    April 7, 2008
  • IMDB Rating
    7.8  (14,459)