Stephen Fry In America

Watch Stephen Fry In America

  • 2008
  • 1 Season
  • 7.9  (1,761)

Stephen Fry In America is a documentary series that follows British comedian, actor, and writer Stephen Fry on a whirlwind tour of the United States. The series, which originally aired on BBC One in 2008, consists of six hour-long episodes, each of which explores a different region or theme of America.

Throughout the series, Fry travels to all 50 states, from Maine to Hawaii, and covers over 25,000 miles. Along the way, he meets a diverse array of Americans, from politicians to ordinary citizens, and delves into the country's history, culture, and identity.

The first episode sees Fry exploring New England, including a trip to Boston's famous Fenway Park and a visit to the small town of Fryeburg, Maine (which, of course, bears his surname). From there, he heads to New York City, where he takes in the sights and sounds of Manhattan, visits the 9/11 Memorial, and even goes on a hot air balloon ride over Central Park.

In subsequent episodes, Fry travels to the Deep South, where he learns about the region's history of slavery and segregation, and meets with civil rights activists; the Midwest, where he attends a cattle auction and a demolition derby; and the Pacific Northwest, where he explores the wilderness and learns about the native cultures of the region.

One of the highlights of the series is Fry's visit to Silicon Valley, where he meets with tech entrepreneurs and explores the cutting edge of innovation. He also spends time in California wine country, where he meets with vintners and learns about the history of winemaking in the region.

Throughout the series, Fry's witty and erudite commentary provides a unique perspective on America, both its strengths and its flaws. He doesn't shy away from controversial topics, such as gun ownership and the death penalty, but also takes time to celebrate America's cultural treasures, such as jazz music and the national parks.

In addition to exploring the geography and culture of America, Fry also delves into its political system. He meets with politicians such as former Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich and former presidential candidate John Kerry, and explores the complex issues of American politics, such as campaign finance reform and the role of the Supreme Court.

Overall, Stephen Fry In America is an entertaining and informative series that provides a fascinating glimpse into the many facets of the United States. Whether you're a fan of Fry's wit and charm, or simply interested in learning more about America, this series is definitely worth checking out.

Stephen Fry In America is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (6 episodes). The series first aired on October 12, 2008.

Stephen Fry In America
Filter by Source

6. Pacific
November 16, 2008
Stephen explores the states that touch the Pacific Ocean.
True West
5. True West
November 9, 2008
The high mesas of New Mexico are the starting point for Stephen's journey through the dramatic landscapes of the Southwest.
Mountains and Plains
4. Mountains and Plains
November 2, 2008
Stephen Fry begins at the Canadian border in the stunning mountains of Montana and ends at the very different border with Mexico in Texas.
3. Mississippi
October 26, 2008
Stephen begins his epic journey along the length of the Mississippi in the sultry, voodoo-soaked streets of New Orleans during Mardi Gras.
Deep South
2. Deep South
October 19, 2008
Stephen Fry explores what it is that makes the South so distinctive.
New World
1. New World
October 12, 2008
Stephen Fry explores the states that make up New England.
Where to Watch Stephen Fry In America
Stephen Fry In America is available for streaming on the BBC One website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Stephen Fry In America on demand at Amazon and Tubi TV.
  • Premiere Date
    October 12, 2008
  • IMDB Rating
    7.9  (1,761)