The House of Cards Trilogy

Watch The House of Cards Trilogy

  • TV-14
  • 2017
  • 3 Seasons
  • 8.5  (14,998)

The House of Cards Trilogy is a gripping political drama that aired on the BBC in 1990. The show stars Ian Richardson as Francis Urquhart, a cunning and ambitious politician who will stop at nothing to climb the ranks of power in the UK government. The story begins with Urquhart serving as the Chief Whip for the Conservative Party. When the newly elected Prime Minister, Henry Collingridge, fails to deliver on his promises, Urquhart sees an opportunity to take control. He begins to manipulate events behind the scenes, using his intelligence and charm to undermine Collingridge and position himself as the next leader of the party.

Throughout the first season, Urquhart's ruthless tactics are on full display as he orchestrates a series of scandals and double-crosses to eliminate his enemies and consolidate his power. He even enlists the help of Mattie Storin, a young journalist played by Susannah Harker, who becomes his confidant and unwitting accomplice.

The second season picks up where the first left off, with Urquhart now in the coveted position of Prime Minister. However, he soon realizes that holding onto power is much harder than acquiring it. He faces challenges from all sides, including his own cabinet and a rogue reporter who threatens to expose his secrets.

As the plot thickens, tensions mount and every move becomes a high-stakes game of brinkmanship. Urquhart is forced to make tough choices and alliances, all while trying to maintain the appearance of a strong and stable government.

The final season brings the saga to a thrilling conclusion as Urquhart's past finally catches up with him. He must face the consequences of his actions and confront his own mortality in a nail-biting finale that will keep viewers on the edge of their seats.

The House of Cards Trilogy is not only a thrilling political drama, but also a study of human nature and the dark impulses that can drive people to power. Ian Richardson's performance as Francis Urquhart is commanding and captivating, and he is supported by a talented cast that includes Susannah Harker, David Lyon, and Diane Fletcher.

The show is also notable for its sharp writing and clever dialogue, which is rife with double entendres and razor-sharp wit. The themes explored in the series are timeless and resonate even today, making it a must-see for fans of political drama and anyone fascinated by the complex nature of human ambition.

Overall, The House of Cards Trilogy is a riveting and unforgettable television classic that has stood the test of time. It is a must-watch for anyone who loves political dramas, sharp writing, and exceptional acting.

The House of Cards Trilogy is a series that is currently running and has 3 seasons (12 episodes). The series first aired on April 14, 2017.

The House of Cards Trilogy
Filter by Source

Episode 4
4. Episode 4
November 26, 1995
The situation in Cyprus escalates quickly into tragedy. Urquhart's strong-arm tactics have backfired and surely this time there is no way out for the Prime Minister?
Episode 3
3. Episode 3
November 19, 1995
Urquhart's support is ebbing; even his foreign policy success can't save him. Then he has the most brilliant, ruthless idea of his life.
Episode 2
2. Episode 2
November 12, 1995
Urquhart makes Claire his private secretary but is this wise considering her passionate relationship with his rival, Makepeace?
Episode 1
1. Episode 1
November 5, 1995
Francis Urquehart is looking for a place in history as the longest serving Prime Minister. He has ruthlessly overcome all obstacles so far so nothing should stop him, but he is beginning to have troubling dreams about his past.
Where to Watch The House of Cards Trilogy
The House of Cards Trilogy is available for streaming on the BBC website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch The House of Cards Trilogy on demand at Amazon Prime.
  • Premiere Date
    April 14, 2017
  • IMDB Rating
    8.5  (14,998)