Lark Rise to Candleford

Watch Lark Rise to Candleford

  • TV-PG
  • 2008
  • 4 Seasons
  • 8.2  (8,368)

Lark Rise to Candleford is a captivating period drama set in the English countryside during the late 19th century. Spanning four seasons, the series tells the story of two communities, Lark Rise and Candleford, and the lives of the people who inhabit them. At the heart of the show is the character of Laura (played by Olivia Hallinan), a young girl who is sent to work as an apprentice at the post office in Candleford. Through her eyes, we see the stark contrasts between the two communities. Lark Rise is a small village, where people live in close-knit communities and close to the land. In contrast, Candleford is a bustling market town, where commerce and industry reign supreme.

Laura soon finds herself caught up in the dramas of both communities. In Lark Rise, she is drawn to the strong sense of community, and she forms close relationships with her fellow villagers. At the same time, she is fascinated by the energy and excitement of Candleford, where she becomes embroiled in the lives of the other shopkeepers and learns about the cut-throat world of business.

The show is full of rich characters, each with their own stories and struggles. Among the most memorable are the fiercely independent Queenie (Linda Bassett) and her daughter Twister (Claudie Blakley), the kindly postmaster Dorcas (Julia Sawalha), and the star-crossed lovers Thomas (Mark Heap) and Margaret (Gabrielle Drake).

One of the recurring themes throughout the series is the tension between tradition and progress. This is exemplified by the conflict between Lark Rise and Candleford, with the former representing the old-fashioned way of life, while the latter is a beacon of modernity. The tension is also reflected in the personal lives of the characters, as they grapple with the difficult choices that come with change.

The show also explores issues such as class, gender, and family dynamics. It delves into the struggles of working-class families trying to make ends meet, women fighting for their rights, and the complexities of familial relationships in a time when duty and obligation were paramount.

The production values of Lark Rise to Candleford are stunning, transporting viewers back in time with its beautiful costumes, intricate sets, and sweeping landscapes. The show has a warm, nostalgic feel, with its evocative score and charmingly old-fashioned storytelling.

Overall, Lark Rise to Candleford is a timeless tale of love, loss, and the struggle to find one's place in the world. With its richly drawn characters and thought-provoking themes, it has won a legion of fans over the years and remains a beloved classic of British television.

Lark Rise to Candleford is a series that is currently running and has 4 seasons (40 episodes). The series first aired on January 13, 2008.

Lark Rise to Candleford
Filter by Source

Episode 6
6. Episode 6
February 13, 2011
Gabriel has finally completed the machine which he hopes will restore his fortunes and farmers are soon asking to buy his invention. Dorcas is delighted for him, until she realizes it could mean his departure from Candleford. Meanwhile, Caroline has returned to Lark Rise, and Minnie assumes it's only a matter of time before Alf comes to propose, now that his ma is back to look after her children.
Episode 5
5. Episode 5
February 6, 2011
Daniel is planning a cricket match against a neighboring village team. He's determined to restore Candleford's honor, but most of his regular players are away, and the men of Larkrise are cricketing novices. Defeat looks certain until he discovers that the finest batsman in the county is right under his nose. The only problem is, his batsman is a batswoman, and the rules state women cannot play.
Episode 4
4. Episode 4
January 30, 2011
The Fair has come to town, and the locals are celebrating - Alf has been crowned King of the Fair, while Queenie has won a whole pig! The Lark Risers start fattening up the pig in preparation for a sumptuous pig feast, but Twister can't resist the temptation of selling off cuts of the animal to the people of Candleford. At the post office, Gabriel is proving to be a less than perfect house guest.
Episode 3
3. Episode 3
January 23, 2011
Thomas is euphoric when he lands the job of organizing the church bazaar. But his joy soon evaporates when the vicar falls ill, and the controversial and free-thinking Reverend Marley takes charge. Thomas is convinced that Marley is evil incarnate, and when he comes across a snake on his postal rounds, he sees it as a sign that the devil is indeed amongst them.
Episode 2
2. Episode 2
January 16, 2011
When Daniel announces that his newspaper is launching a poetry competition, the folks of Lark Rise and Candleford are thrown into a frenzy of creative writing. Pearl, Margaret and Alfie all vie to take home the trophy with their poetic offerings, but Ruby is spreading a rumor that Laura and Daniel have fixed the outcome of the competition.
Episode 1
1. Episode 1
January 9, 2011
Gabriel Cochrane, the once wealthy owner of a large Iron Foundry, arrives. The bank has repossessed his home and business, his young wife has died, and Gabriel finds himself looking for a new start. The people of Candleford take him to their hearts.
Where to Watch Lark Rise to Candleford
Lark Rise to Candleford is available for streaming on the BBC website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Lark Rise to Candleford on demand at Apple TV Channels, Amazon Prime, Amazon, Vudu, Apple TV and Tubi TV.
  • Premiere Date
    January 13, 2008
  • IMDB Rating
    8.2  (8,368)