Agatha Raisin

Watch Agatha Raisin

  • TV-14
  • 2014
  • 4 Seasons
  • 7.2  (6,208)

Agatha Raisin is a British comedy-drama television series that premiered on Acorn TV in 2014. It is based on the novels of the same name by M.C. Beaton. The show stars Ashley Jensen as Agatha Raisin, a London PR executive who retires early and moves to the fictional village of Carsely in the Cotswolds.

The show is set in the idyllic English countryside, and the picturesque landscape provides a stunning backdrop for the show's charming characters and their hijinks. Agatha, a sharply-dressed and streetwise city girl, settles into her new life in the sleepy village, where she intends to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. However, her competitive nature and sleuthing instincts get the best of her, and she soon finds herself embroiled in a world of mystery and intrigue.

As the new kid in town, Agatha sets out to make a name for herself by entering the local baking competition. But when one of the judges is poisoned, Agatha sets out to find the killer and clear her name. Along the way, she teams up with the local police officer, DC Bill Wong (Matt McCooey), and a cast of colorful characters, including Agatha's best friend, Roy (Mathew Horne), and the village busybody, Mrs. Bloxby (Lucy Liemann).

Agatha's investigations always seem to run into trouble, but she's determined to get to the bottom of things. In one episode, she sets out to clear the name of her new friend, Gemma Simpson (Katy Wix), a veterinarian who is accused of murder. While investigating the case, Agatha stumbles upon a plot involving illegal dogfighting, and she puts herself in danger to bring the criminals to justice.

In another episode, Agatha is tasked with solving the mysterious disappearance of a local property owner, Robert Struthers. Along the way, she discovers a secret room in Struthers' mansion, where she uncovers an ancient treasure. The discovery leads her on a wild goose chase through the countryside as she tries to unravel the mystery surrounding the treasure.

Throughout the series, Agatha copes with the challenges of small-town life, including rivalries with other women in the village, local politics, and even a budding romance with a new resident, James Lacey (Jamie Glover). As she becomes more involved in the community, Agatha begins to feel at home in Carsely, but she soon learns that small-town living can be just as complicated as life in the big city.

Overall, Agatha Raisin is a charming and amusing series that will appeal to fans of cozy mysteries and British humor. Ashley Jensen's performance as Agatha is a highlight of the show, and her chemistry with the rest of the cast is delightful. The Cotswolds setting is also a character in its own right, and the show does an excellent job of capturing the beauty and quirky charm of the region. Whether you're a fan of the books or new to the world of Agatha Raisin, this series is a must-watch for anyone who loves a good mystery with a side of comedy.

Agatha Raisin is a series that is currently running and has 4 seasons (35 episodes). The series first aired on December 26, 2014.

Agatha Raisin
Filter by Source

Bonus: Behind the Scenes
8. Bonus: Behind the Scenes
February 21, 2022
The cast and crew of Agatha Raisin discuss the making of the fourth series.
There Goes the Bride, Part 2
7. There Goes the Bride, Part 2
January 1, 2020
Having lost their lead, Agatha and the gang go back to their list of suspects. Could Eirwen's murder be connected to the family business? Or were her two prior fiances somehow involved? As Agatha looks closer at all these tangled relationships, she realizes that someone may have been unwilling to part from Eirwen—except by death.
There Goes the Bride, Part 1
6. There Goes the Bride, Part 1
February 21, 2022
It's the wedding of the year, but nothing ever goes to plan in Carsely. Agatha must investigate when her ex-fiance's fiancee is murdered the night before their wedding.
A Spoonful of Poison, Part 2
5. A Spoonful of Poison, Part 2
February 14, 2022
The police believe the latest death was an accident, but Agatha uncovers a possible connection to an earlier tragedy that may shine light on the motive in this case.
A Spoonful of Poison, Part 1
4. A Spoonful of Poison, Part 1
February 13, 2022
DCI Wilkes hires Agatha to investigate a mysterious death at a jam-making festival, when one of the judges for an event he was competing in plunges from a rooftop.
Love, Lies and Liquor, Part 2
3. Love, Lies and Liquor, Part 2
January 1, 2020
Toni and Roy go looking for Ronnie, but someone else gets there first. After reinterviewing the victim's latest husband, Agatha learns about Chelsea's traumatic history and begins to make connections between the killings and the long-ago robbery. But can she unravel the puzzle before another life is lost?
Love, Lies and Liquor, Part 1
2. Love, Lies and Liquor, Part 1
February 7, 2022
When James whisks Agatha away on a seaside trip to work on his new book, the last thing she expects is to end up in Snoth-on-Sea-and be suspected of murder.
Kissing Christmas Goodbye
1. Kissing Christmas Goodbye
December 20, 2021
Agatha is hired to protect a woman from her ghosts of Christmas past, but when her client is found dead, Agatha has a murder investigation on her hands.
Where to Watch Agatha Raisin
Agatha Raisin is available for streaming on the Acorn TV website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Agatha Raisin on demand at Apple TV Channels, Amazon Prime, Amazon, Google Play, Hoopla and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    December 26, 2014
  • IMDB Rating
    7.2  (6,208)