The House of Eliott

Watch The House of Eliott

  • 1991
  • 3 Seasons
  • 8.1  (1,608)

The House of Eliott is a period drama television series that originally aired from 1991 to 1994. It is now available on BritBox for viewers who want to experience the glamour and high stakes of 1920s London. The series was created by Eileen Atkins and stars Stella Gonet and Louise Lombard as two sisters who establish a fashion house in the heart of the city.

The story follows sisters Beatrice and Evangeline Eliott, who after the sudden death of their father, are left penniless and alone. Despite their privileged background, the sisters are forced to fend for themselves and navigate the challenges of starting a business in a male-dominated industry. With determination and skill, they find success creating bespoke clothing for the wealthy elite of London.

The House of Eliott is a show that expertly weaves together drama, romance, and fashion. The stunning costumes and sets transport viewers to a bygone era of opulence and decadence. The fashion house is a hub of activity, with seamstresses working tirelessly to create the sisters' designs. The show also places great emphasis on the process of design, giving viewers an insider's look into the creation of beautiful and complex garments.

Beyond the fashion, the series explores themes of family, love, and betrayal. Beatrice and Evangeline have a complicated relationship, both as sisters and business partners. Their bond is tested as they face challenges, including financial setbacks, personal rivalries, and the pressure of keeping up with changing fashion trends.

The House of Eliott also features a strong supporting cast of characters, including Daniel Massey as the sisters' financial backer and Bryan Marshall as a suave newspaper editor. Throughout the series, the sisters encounter a host of interesting characters who add depth and complexity to the storyline.

One of the hallmarks of The House of Eliott is its attention to historical accuracy. From the bustling streets of London to the grand mansions of the wealthy, the series captures the essence of 1920s England. The show also highlights the social and political issues of the time, including the women's suffrage movement and the changing role of women in society.

Overall, The House of Eliott is a beautifully crafted drama that will appeal to fans of fashion, history, and romance. The strong performances by Gonet and Lombard, combined with the exquisite attention to detail, create a captivating viewing experience. The series is a true gem of British television, and its timeless appeal continues to captivate audiences today.

The House of Eliott is a series that is currently running and has 3 seasons (34 episodes). The series first aired on August 30, 1991.

The House of Eliott
Filter by Source

Episode 10
10. Episode 10
March 6, 1994
Bea and Evie lose the venue for their collection. The day of Jack's by-election arrives.
Episode 9
9. Episode 9
February 27, 1994
Evie is disturbed with Daniel's reluctance to introduce her to his family.
Episode 8
8. Episode 8
February 20, 1994
Bea and Evie are forced to take matters into their own hands over Larry and Grace.
Episode 7
7. Episode 7
February 13, 1994
The company's excitement at ready to wear is shattered when Joseph makes a discovery.
Episode 6
6. Episode 6
February 6, 1994
Evie questions Bea's motives when she suggests Daniel paints a client's portrait.
Episode 5
5. Episode 5
January 30, 1994
Bea gives birth while Jack is away. Tilly returns to work after the death of her baby.
Episode 4
4. Episode 4
January 23, 1994
The birth of Tilly's baby brings great excitement to the troubled workroom.
Episode 3
3. Episode 3
January 16, 1994
Bea and Evie sign a contract with Larry Cotter to expand into the area of ready to wear.
Episode 2
2. Episode 2
January 9, 1994
Bea and Evie go into ready to wear with Joseph Cotter. Stan takes part in a fatal fight.
Episode 1
1. Episode 1
January 2, 1994
The sisters return to find that many of their clients have left them for another designer.
Where to Watch The House of Eliott
The House of Eliott is available for streaming on the BritBox website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch The House of Eliott on demand at Apple TV Channels and Amazon Prime.
  • Premiere Date
    August 30, 1991
  • IMDB Rating
    8.1  (1,608)