The Kennedy Center Honors

Watch The Kennedy Center Honors

  • 1978
  • 46 Seasons
  • 8.3  (124)

The Kennedy Center Honors is an annual television special that celebrates lifetime achievements in the arts. This show is produced by the CBS network and airs during the holiday season each year. The special honors individuals who have made significant contributions to American culture through their work in music, film, theater, dance, or television. The Kennedy Center selects honorees based on their body of work, impact on their art form, and artistic merit.

The 2012 edition of The Kennedy Center Honors featured an impressive lineup of honorees, including legendary blues musician Buddy Guy, actor Dustin Hoffman, and comedian David Letterman. Each of these individuals has left an indelible mark on American culture, and the show celebrated their achievements in a manner that was both moving and entertaining.

Buddy Guy is known as one of the greatest guitarists of all time and has been a fixture on the blues music scene since the 1950s. He has played with some of the biggest names in music, including Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton, and Stevie Ray Vaughan. The Kennedy Center Honors paid tribute to Guy's musical legacy with a variety of performances by some of his closest friends and fans. The show kicked off with a performance of "Damn Right, I've Got the Blues" by Keb' Mo', who acknowledged Guy's influence on his own music. Other highlights included performances of "I'd Rather Be Blind" by Beth Hart and "I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man" by Gary Clark Jr. The tribute culminated in an emotional rendition of "Sweet Home Chicago" by Guy himself, who was visibly moved by the outpouring of affection from his peers.

Dustin Hoffman is one of Hollywood's most respected actors, with a career spanning over five decades. He has starred in countless classic films, including The Graduate, Midnight Cowboy, and Rain Man, and has earned numerous awards for his work. The Kennedy Center Honors celebrated Hoffman's contributions to the world of film with a series of clips from some of his most memorable performances. The show also featured speeches from some of his closest collaborators, including director Barry Levinson and actor Robert De Niro, who praised Hoffman's dedication to his craft and his unwavering commitment to excellence.

David Letterman is a comedic icon who spent over three decades entertaining audiences as the host of The Late Show. He is known for his irreverent sense of humor and his willingness to take risks, and his influence on the world of late-night television cannot be overstated. The Kennedy Center Honors paid tribute to Letterman with a retrospective of some of his most memorable moments on television. The show also featured speeches from some of his closest colleagues, including comedian Tina Fey and musician Eddie Vedder, who spoke about Letterman's impact on their own careers.

Throughout the show, the honorees were celebrated not only for their artistic achievements but also for their contributions to American culture and society as a whole. The Kennedy Center Honors has become a beloved tradition for many Americans, and each year's show offers a unique opportunity to reflect on the power of the arts and the enduring legacy of some of our nation's most talented creators. Whether you are a fan of blues music, Hollywood films, or late-night television, The Kennedy Center Honors offers something for everyone, and the 2012 edition of the show was no exception.

The Kennedy Center Honors
Filter by Source
No sources available
The 46th Annual Kennedy Center Honors
1. The 46th Annual Kennedy Center Honors
December 27, 2023
Honorees include actor and comedian Billy Crystal; acclaimed soprano Renée Fleming; British singer-songwriter, producer and member of the Bee Gees Barry Gibb; rapper, singer and actress Queen Latifah; and singer Dionne Warwick. Additionally, former Kennedy Center Honoree (2017) Gloria Estefan returns as host, marking her third time hosting the special.
  • Premiere Date
    December 28, 1978
  • IMDB Rating
    8.3  (124)