The Life of Muhammad

Watch The Life of Muhammad

  • TV-PG
  • 2013
  • 1 Season
  • 7.5  (385)

The Life of Muhammad is a PBS documentary series that aired in 2011, chronicling the life and times of the Islamic prophet Muhammad. The series is presented by Rageh Omaar, a Somali-born British journalist and author, and features contributions from historian Tariq Ali and scholar Merryl Wyn Davies.

The series is divided into three episodes, each covering a different period in Muhammad's life. The first episode focuses on his early years, including his childhood in Mecca and his early dealings with the city's powerful merchant elite. It also details his marriage to his first wife, Khadijah, and his experiences receiving revelations from Allah that would eventually become the foundation of the Quran.

The second episode covers Muhammad's time in Medina, where he fled after facing persecution in Mecca. Here, he established the first Islamic state and laid the groundwork for the Muslim community to grow and expand. The episode also details the various battles and struggles that Muhammad faced during his time in Medina, including conflicts with rival tribes and the formation of alliances with neighboring groups.

The final episode focuses on the later years of Muhammad's life, including his journey to Mecca to reclaim the city for Islam and his eventual death at the age of 62. The episode also explores the legacy of Muhammad and the impact that his teachings and example had on Islamic history and culture.

Throughout the series, Omaar and his expert contributors provide insightful and thought-provoking analysis of Muhammad's life and times. They explore not only the historical details of Muhammad's story but also the cultural and political context in which he lived and worked. They also examine some of the key beliefs and practices of Islam, including the concept of monotheism and the importance of prayer and charity.

The Life of Muhammad is a fascinating and thought-provoking documentary series that sheds new light on one of the most significant figures in world history. It is a must-watch for anyone interested in learning about the origins and evolution of Islam, as well as for those interested in the historical and cultural context of the Middle East. With its engaging storytelling and expert analysis, this series is sure to captivate audiences and leave them with a deeper understanding and appreciation of the life and legacy of Muhammad.

The Life of Muhammad is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (4 episodes). The series first aired on August 12, 2013.

The Life of Muhammad
Filter by Source

Holy Peace
3. Holy Peace
August 20, 2013
Rageh continues to learn about the later part of the prophet's life and the introduction of jihad.
Holy  Wars
2. Holy Wars
August 20, 2013
Rageh explores the accounts of the Prophet's night journey to Jerusalem. He finds out more about his life-threatening departure from Mecca and his establishment of the Constitution of Medina.
The Seeker
1. The Seeker
August 20, 2013
In the series opener, Rageh explores Muhammad's birth and upbringing. He also interviews different academics and commentators on Islam to learn more about Muhammad's first marriage and how he received the first of the revelations.
Preview: The Life of Muhammad
0. Preview: The Life of Muhammad
August 12, 2013
Get a sneak peek of the extraordinary story of a man who, in little more than 20 years, changed the world. Host and journalist Rageh Omaar travels to the place of Muhammad's birth to retrace the footsteps of the prophet through to his death and his legacy.
Where to Watch The Life of Muhammad
The Life of Muhammad is available for streaming on the PBS website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch The Life of Muhammad on demand at Amazon Prime, Amazon and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    August 12, 2013
  • IMDB Rating
    7.5  (385)