American Digger

Watch American Digger

  • 2012
  • 2 Seasons
  • 5.3  (227)

American Digger is a reality television series that premiered on Spike TV in February 2012. The show follows the journey of Giuseppe Savage, Ric Savage, and Rita Savage as they travel across the United States in search of hidden buried treasures. Giuseppe and Ric Savage are a father-son duo with years of experience in treasure hunting and artifact collecting, and Rita Savage is Ric's wife, who is also an experienced metal detectorist.

The show's format is straightforward. In each episode, the trio receives leads about possible sites where they can dig for artifacts or hidden treasures, such as old battlefields, abandoned buildings, or private properties. They then travel to the location, meet the landowners or authorities, and negotiate for the right to dig. Once they obtain permission, they begin the excavation process, using a mix of metal detectors, shovels, and heavy machinery, depending on the site's characteristics.

Throughout the digging process, the Savages offer insights and historical facts about the places they visit, providing an educational element to the show. They also engage with local experts or enthusiasts who can shed further light on the items they find or the history of the area. To add some drama to the proceedings, the show often includes time-limited challenges or competitions between the team members, such as who can find the most valuable item in a day or who can dig the deepest hole.

Apart from the main cast, American Digger also features a rotating cast of experts and friends who occasionally join the digging crew. For instance, in one episode, the Savages team up with Tim Saylor and George Wyant, the hosts of the National Geographic series Diggers, to search for Civil War-era artifacts in Virginia. In another episode, they enlist the help of a professional diver to search for a rumored treasure on the bottom of a lake in Pennsylvania.

Overall, American Digger is an entertaining and educational show that combines the thrill of treasure hunting with the history of the United States. The Savages' passion for their work is evident, and their banter and occasional bickering add a human element to the show. Some viewers may find the show repetitive or formulaic, but the varied locations and historical contexts keep the episodes fresh. The show also avoids the sensationalism or staged drama of some other reality shows, focusing on the genuine excitement and surprises of the digging process.

Unfortunately, American Digger only lasted for one season, with its last episode airing in July 2012. The reasons for its cancellation are unknown, but it may have been due to low ratings or production costs. Nevertheless, the show remains a worthwhile watch for anyone interested in history, metal detecting, or American culture. With its mix of travelogue, adventure, and education, American Digger is a unique reality series that stands out from the usual fare.

American Digger is a series that is currently running and has 2 seasons (26 episodes). The series first aired on March 21, 2012.

Filter by Source

Bomb Baby!
13. Bomb Baby!
April 13, 2013
The Savage Family Diggers unearth a Cold War bunker in Miami, FL.
The Original, Original Sin City
12. The Original, Original Sin City
April 13, 2013
Ric and the team look for smuggler relics in the bayou.
Dr. Quarantine
11. Dr. Quarantine
April 6, 2013
The Savages try their luck at a Marine hospital in Memphis, TN.
Mormon War
10. Mormon War
March 30, 2013
Team Savage digs for Mormon War relics in Crooked River, MO.
In Perfect Harmony
9. In Perfect Harmony
March 23, 2013
Team Savage goes digging with Bill Paxton in New Harmony, IN.
Virginia is for Prisoners
8. Virginia is for Prisoners
March 16, 2013
Team Savage digs for WWII relics at a former P.O.W. Camp in Virginia Beach.
Fear No Evil
7. Fear No Evil
March 9, 2013
Team Savage goes back to its roots and digs for Civil War artifacts in Cape Fear, NC.
Mansion Money
6. Mansion Money
March 2, 2013
A chance encounter leads Team Savage to dig an American castle in Newport, RI.
The Real Moby Dick
5. The Real Moby Dick
February 20, 2013
After a bust, Ric digs for redemption in the historic whaling town of New Bedford, MA.
Pirate's Booty Calls
4. Pirate's Booty Calls
February 13, 2013
Ric and family brave an unforgiving ocean in search of the pirate Blackbeard's treasure, which lies on the bottom of the sea somewhere off the coast of North Carolina. Finds: blunderbuss, canon ball, & precious gems.
America's First Fight Club
3. America's First Fight Club
February 6, 2013
Ric drags his dubious family on a mission to dig up the basement of a legendary Southie bar in search of artifacts from Boston's bareknuckle boxing past. Finds: brass knuckles, ringbell, and an early portable camera.
Devil Dug Down to Georgia
2. Devil Dug Down to Georgia
January 30, 2013
The family digs for Civil War artifacts on a Savannah plantation rumored to be haunted. Creepy locals & eerie problems put the Savages on edge. Finds: Civil War relics, bones, and ghosts.
History of Hookers
1. History of Hookers
January 30, 2013
After a failed dig, Rick drags the family to New Orleans' original red light district in search of old brothels. Rookie Nick's poor work ethic angers his brother. Finds: Antique Rolex, Condom tin, relics worth thousands!
Where to Watch American Digger
American Digger is available for streaming on the Spike TV website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch American Digger on demand at Amazon, Vudu and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    March 21, 2012
  • IMDB Rating
    5.3  (227)