Watch Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries

Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries is an Australian murder mystery series based in Melbourne that tells the story of a different murder each episode. The show was first broadcast by the Australian network ABC1 in 2012 as a 13 part season of one hour episodes; the eponymous Miss Phryne Fisher is a 1920s society woman who uses her beauty, charm and a pearl handled pistol to solve a different murder in each episode. The character is based on a series of popular Australian mystery novels by Kerry Greenwood known as the Phryne Fisher Mysteries.

Adapted by writers Deb Cox and Fiona Eaggers the first season of Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries is set in 1920s Melbourne, Australia and shows the return of Phryne from a tour of foreign countries. Returning to her hometown Miss Fisher moves in with her Aunt, who is determined to introduce her niece to Melbourne society and find a rich husband for her. Throughout the season the major reason for Phryne's return to Melbourne is revealed as her wish to make sure the man she feels is responsible for the mysterious disappearance of her sister, Murdoch Foyle stays in jail for life.

In the first episode of the season Phryne clears the name of a young woman, Dot Williams who is accused of murder; after clearing her name Phryne employs Dot as he maid and assistant in investigations. She also befriends Detective Inspector Jack Robinson and his assistant Constable Hugo Collins. With the police using their own means to investigate the different murder occurring in each episode and Phryne using her feminine wiles and humor to help solve crimes the group find their way to the identity of each killer. Although firmly based in the genre of amateur murder investigators Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries differs from the majority of the genre through its setting in the Jazz era in Australia. The characters of Phryne Fisher and her Aunt Prudence inject humor into each episode through the skills of actresses Essie Davis and Miriam Margolyes, respectively.

2 Seasons, 26 Episodes
Crime, Drama, Mystery
Watch Episodes

Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries Full Episode Guide

  • While holidaying with Aunt Prudence at a snowbound chalet, Phryne and her friends rush to solve a murder before they become the next victims.

  • The death of a teenager escaping from a halfway house for wayward girls touches Phryne deeply as her investigation leads to corruption in high places.

  • The Fisher household's new wireless broadcasts bad news with an on-air murder, prompting Phryne and an undercover Jack to battle a wily killer.

  • Phryne investigates two suspicious deaths at an idyllic vineyard, where murder and hostile townsfolk combine to produce an especially thorny case.

Review Miss Fisher's Murder Mysteries