Addicted to Food

Watch Addicted to Food

  • 2011
  • 1 Season
  • 7.2  (110)

Addicted to Food is a reality television show that aired on the Oprah Winfrey Network (OWN) in 2011. The show follows the emotional journeys of eight individuals who are struggling with food addiction and the root causes behind their behavior. The program is hosted and guided by Tennie McCarty, a renowned therapist who specializes in treating eating disorders.

Throughout the series, each participant undergoes intense therapy sessions with McCarty and her team of professionals. The therapy takes place in a group setting, where the individuals are encouraged to share their personal struggles with food and how it has affected their lives. The participants confront not only their unhealthy relationships with food but also the deep emotional issues that led them down the path of addiction.

The show features a diverse group of people from different backgrounds, ages, and genders. Each person has their own unique story to tell, but all share a common goal of overcoming their addictive behavior. The participants work through a variety of therapeutic methods, such as Cognitive Behavioral Therapy (CBT), Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT), and Mindfulness-based Stress Reduction (MBSR).

In addition to the therapy sessions, the participants are put on a health and wellness program that includes yoga, meditation, and exercise. They also participate in cooking classes to learn healthy meal preparation techniques and how to make better food choices.

Throughout the series, tension arises among the participants as they confront their own weaknesses and learn to hold themselves accountable for their actions. At times, they struggle with relapses and setbacks, but always remain committed to their healing process.

One of the standout characters on the show is Janelle, a mother of three who has struggled with eating disorders for most of her life. Janelle is a perfectionist who is never satisfied with herself and is constantly striving for impossible standards. She has a tumultuous relationship with her husband and is estranged from her father, who abandoned her family when she was a child. Throughout the series, Janelle learns to confront her inner demons and gain control of her life.

Another participant is Jasmine, a young woman who has been addicted to food since childhood. She has a strained relationship with her mother, who uses food as a way to show love and affection. Jasmine learns to break the cycle of unhealthy behavior and rebuild her self-esteem.

The show also tackles the issue of weight discrimination and the stigma attached to being overweight. Many of the participants share stories of feeling judged and isolated by society for their size. The show challenges viewers to examine their own biases and prejudices and learn to accept people for who they are, regardless of their weight.

Addicted to Food is a raw and emotional look at the struggles faced by those who suffer from food addiction. The series is a reminder that addiction is not just about physical dependence but is often rooted in deep emotional pain. The participants on the show learn to confront their fears and insecurities and find the strength to overcome their addiction. The show offers hope to viewers who may be struggling with their own addiction issues and encourages them to seek help and support.

Addicted to Food
Filter by Source
No sources available
Do you have Hulu?
What are you waiting for?
Nice! Browse Hulu with Yidio.
Ad Info - This show may not be available on Hulu
You're Not Ready to Go Home
8. You're Not Ready to Go Home
May 31, 2011
With their 42-day treatment coming to an end, Tennie gives continuing treatment recommendation to the clients. While some are accepting of her counsel, others rebel and breakdown, but must decide what they're willing to do for their recovery.
Family Week
7. Family Week
May 24, 2011
During Family Week, Dejuaii finds the courage to come out of the closet to her mom. And while Elizabeth addresses her father about her painful childhood, Amy is confronted by her family and the clients about her unwillingness to stop playing the victim card.
Guess Who's Coming to Family Week
6. Guess Who's Coming to Family Week
May 17, 2011
With only a few days left until Family Week, Tennie shocks the clients into action by telling them which relatives are coming, and leading them through exercises directed at emotionally preparing the clients to confront their loved ones about their eating disorders.
5. Relapse
May 3, 2011
Summary not available
I Have A Right to Be Angry!
4. I Have A Right to Be Angry!
April 26, 2011
Summary not available
If It's Not One Thing, It's Your Mother
3. If It's Not One Thing, It's Your Mother
April 19, 2011
Summary not available
2. Exposed
April 12, 2011
Tinisha begins a grueling detox from food and wants to leave while others take on their assignments that help them face their emotional pain caused by their eating disorders.
Welcome to Treatment
1. Welcome to Treatment
April 5, 2011
In the series premiere, meet the eight new clients at Shades of hope who are there for a 42-day journey beginning now.
  • Premiere Date
    April 5, 2011
  • IMDB Rating
    7.2  (110)