Watch Life of Birds

Add to Watchlist

The Life of Birds was narrated by Sir David Attenborough, and contains ten episodes in total. Each episode of the Life of Birds follows a different aspect of birds. This includes such things as birds' flight, flightless birds, fish-eating birds, predatory birds, and the development of birds. Each episode of the Life of Birds is fifty minutes in length.

Life of Birds is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (10 episodes). The series first aired on October 21, 1998.

Life of Birds is available for streaming on the website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Life of Birds on demand atiTunes online.

BBC Earth
1 Season, 10 Episodes
October 21, 1998
Documentary & Biography
Cast: David Attenborough
Watch Episodes

Life of Birds Full Episode Guide

  • Left to their own devices, birds have reached almost all ends of the Earth - still, humans can do many things to help their feathered friends.

  • Raising children is no easier in the air as it is on the ground, as bird parents care for, defend, and even kill their young.

  • Laying eggs and keeping nests are two things that keep birds grounded.

  • Male birds show off in the exotic ritual of mating.

  • The myth that birds only sing for pleasure is destroyed as birdsongs become known as ways of communication .

  • Cameras follow birds as they dive into fresh and salt waters for their meals.

  • Birds eat more than berries; this episode takes a look at birds that eat meat.

  • Discovering the role of beaks within various species of birds.

  • The focus turns to the mastery of flight, from the science of gravity to the ability of birds to cover extremely long distances.

  • The series begins with an in-depth look at flightless birds around the world.