Life Story

Watch Life Story

  • TV-PG
  • 2014
  • 1 Season
  • 9.0  (2,313)

Life Story is a landmark nature documentary series narrated by one of the most celebrated voice-over artists in the world, David Attenborough. Produced by the BBC, the show aired from 2014 to 2015 and follows the journey of various animal species through their entire lifetimes. Every episode is a gripping story of real animals and their experiences, with each one painstakingly researched and shot in stunning HD.

The series features a breadth of different animals, from the tiniest insects to lions, whales, and elephants. It focuses on the most significant stages of these creatures' lives—from birth, growth, and learning to survival, courtship, and raising young. Each episode is dedicated to a different group of animals, and parallels are drawn between their individual experiences and the experiences that humans share.

Life Story is beautifully filmed, with breathtaking scenes of landscapes, waterfalls, underwater ecosystems, and wildlife. The photography in the series is remarkable, capturing some of the most intimate moments between animals and their young. Viewers are taken on a visual journey through the diverse environments in which these animals live and the unique adaptations they have evolved to survive.

David Attenborough's narration of the show is crucial to its success, providing a rich tapestry of context to the stunning visuals. His voice adds depth and emotion to the storytelling, making the viewer feel like they are living the experiences alongside the animals.

The first episode of the series focuses on the tiny creatures that are often overlooked in documentaries. Insects such as butterflies, beetles, and spiders are followed from birth to adulthood, highlighting the complexity and fragility of their lives. The episode also reveals the symbiotic relationships these creatures have with other animals and their environment, highlighting their importance in the ecosystem.

The second episode of Life Story highlights the journey of birds as they learn to fly, build nests, and hunt for food. The episode features stunning shots of birds soaring across vast expanses of land and sea, demonstrating their strength and agility.

The third episode takes viewers on an adventure through the oceans, following the lives of some of the largest animals on the planet. From humpback whales to great white sharks to giant squid, the episode demonstrates the sheer power and majesty of these creatures as they navigate their way through the vast and inhospitable environment of the sea.

The fourth episode is dedicated to the unique challenges that come with life in the jungle. From monkeys to sloths, the animals featured in this episode have developed unique adaptations to survive in a world of constant danger and competition.

The fifth episode showcases some of the most charismatic animals on the planet—lions, tigers, and bears. The episode explores the challenges of raising young in a world where predators are everywhere, and the success of the young relies entirely on the skills of their parents.

The sixth and final episode of Life Story takes a closer look at the fascinating creatures that live in the city. From rats to pigeons to foxes, the episode highlights how these animals have adapted to life in urban environments to survive.

Overall, Life Story is a stunning and immersive nature documentary series that is both educational and entertaining. It is a testament to the beauty and complexity of the natural world and a must-watch for anyone interested in our planet's many amazing creatures.

Life Story is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (12 episodes). The series first aired on October 23, 2014.

Life Story
Filter by Source

Do you have Hulu?
What are you waiting for?
Nice! Browse Hulu with Yidio.
Ad Info - This show may not be available on Hulu
Behind the Scenes of Parenthood
12. Behind the Scenes of Parenthood
Cameramen endure weeks in the Congo battling heavy vegetation, soaking humidity and swarms of biting insects to film bonobo chimpanzees in the wild.
Behind the Scenes of Courtship
11. Behind the Scenes of Courtship
Hoping to document the complex geometric nests made by a pufferfish, the camera crew constructs elaborate rigs for an ad hoc underwater film studio.
Behind the Scenes of Power
10. Behind the Scenes of Power
Filmmakers venture into the wild and manage to catch footage of aggressive boxing matches between rival kangaroos vying for dominance.
Behind the Scenes of Home
9. Behind the Scenes of Home
The team travels to an isolated island in the tropics to film a group of hermit crabs as they begin swapping the shells they use as homes.
Behind the Scenes of Growing Up
8. Behind the Scenes of Growing Up
An underwater film crew faces unique challenges getting footage of a veined octopus building itself armor from fragments of a coconut shell.
Behind the Scenes of First Steps
7. Behind the Scenes of First Steps
A camera crew battles boredom and challenging camera angles to film days-old barnacle goslings leaping from their 400-foot-high cliff-side nest.
6. Parenthood
November 27, 2014
With the final challenge of life's journey comes the chance to win nature's only prize - continuing the family line through the next generation. Successfully raising offspring is the next best thing to immortality. But it's far from easy... Some parents must risk their own lives for their offspring.
5. Courtship
November 20, 2014
Competition to win a partner has created some of the most extraordinary beauty and life-threatening violence anywhere in nature. Dazzling colors, elaborate dances and powerful weapons are all ways to attract and defend a mate. The stakes could not be higher: without a mate, the journey of life ends here... sometimes literally.
4. Power
November 13, 2014
An individual's life journey interweaves with many others. Those who are successful know when to fight or back down, when to cooperate or to go it alone and how to manipulate and deceive. Power is the ultimate prize: animals will use any means to rise through the ranks and give themselves a chance of winning the game of life.
3. Home
November 6, 2014
To survive, animals need somewhere to live; a place that provides the necessities of life, shelter from the elements and a refuge from enemies. Good homes are rare and competition can be intense - finding a home is one thing, but defending it is quite another.
Growing Up
2. Growing Up
October 30, 2014
On reaching adulthood the moment comes when animals must strike out on their own. Without their parents they must learn to survive in a dangerous world. At this stage of life every small success may mean the difference between life and death.
First Steps
1. First Steps
October 23, 2014
Each and every animal is born with a chance: to survive, thrive and produce their very own next generation. The first hurdle in life is infancy. Vulnerable, naïve but determined, some young animals face their biggest challenges in the first few days of life. How a creature fares at the very beginning is the foundation upon which their future success depends.
Where to Watch Life Story
Life Story is available for streaming on the BBC One website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Life Story on demand at Max, Discovery+, Amazon Prime, Amazon, Vudu, Google Play and Apple TV.
  • Premiere Date
    October 23, 2014
  • IMDB Rating
    9.0  (2,313)