Murder Book

Watch Murder Book

  • TV-PG
  • 2014
  • 2 Seasons
  • 8.2  (205)

Murder Book is an American true crime television series that premiered on Investigation Discovery in 2014. The show featured the investigations of real-life homicide cases and the intricacies of solving them. The show was hosted by actor Geoff Pierson, who portrayed Deputy Chief Tom Matthews on the hit television series Dexter. Alongside Pierson were experienced detectives Tomas Johansson and David Donah, who led the investigations in each episode.

The title of the show, Murder Book, refers to the file that detectives keep on each case they handle. The file includes all the evidence, witness statements, and other pieces of information necessary to solve a murder. Each episode of the show focused on a single murder case, and the team of detectives would begin by revisiting the details of the case and the evidence gathered during the initial investigation.

The investigators combed through the evidence and talked to witnesses and family members of the victim to piece together what happened. They delved into the lives of the victim and suspects, searching for the motive behind the crime. The show often featured reenactments of the crime scenes, adding to the atmosphere and allowing viewers to visualize the events as they unfolded.

The show presented a unique and often complex view of the investigation process. It offered insight into the techniques and approaches of skilled detectives, from interrogating potential suspects to analyzing forensic evidence. The cases featured on the show ranged from simple crimes of passion to complex conspiracies, providing a broad range of criminal scenarios for viewers to experience.

Although each case was unique, there were common themes throughout the series. The sorrow and pain felt by the families of the victims were palpable and often heart-wrenching. The diligence, perseverance, and determination of the detectives were evident in every episode, as they sought to bring closure and justice to the victims' families.

Murder Book was a compelling and engaging series that offered an intimate view of criminal investigations. The interviews with family members and witnesses, occasional reenactments, and police footage provided an immersive and emotional experience for viewers. Each episode left the audience wondering how these murderers could have committed such heinous crimes, and how investigators were able to solve them.

Overall, Murder Book is a gripping true crime series that provides a unique look into the minds of the detectives who work to bring justice to victims of homicide. The series is a testament to the hard work and dedication of law enforcement officials, and their desire to solve the most heinous of crimes. If you enjoy true crime television shows, Murder Book is a must-watch.

Murder Book is a series that is currently running and has 2 seasons (23 episodes). The series first aired on December 2, 2014.

Murder Book
Filter by Source

Come Back Jack
13. Come Back Jack
February 25, 2016
The investigation into the disappearance of a 71-year-old Korean War veteran near Upland, Cal., is recounted.
The Good Samaritan
12. The Good Samaritan
February 18, 2016
When a young woman suddenly vanishes while trying to repair a flat tire, investigators put together the pieces of a dark and heinous crime.
Blood Diamond
11. Blood Diamond
February 11, 2016
When a local retiree vanishes without a trace, his daughter teams up with investigators to solve the mystery behind his disappearance, and eventually bring the person responsible to justice.
Spitting in the Wind
10. Spitting in the Wind
February 4, 2016
Thirty years after a young wife and mother is murdered, her adult children convince a rookie detective to take up the case. With fresh eyes on the old files, the young investigator finds a clue that helps unlock an old family secret.
Race to Justice
9. Race to Justice
January 21, 2016
In 1988, racing legend Mickey Thompson and his wife Trudy are gunned down in front of their Southern California home. After nearly two decades of cat and mouse, cold case investigators bring the case to a close and put a smug killer behind bars.
Mr. Big
8. Mr. Big
January 14, 2016
When store clerk Marie Dupe is stabbed to death, the evidence leads to a dead-end. Eight years later, detectives stage an elaborate sting to get the truth, straight from the killer's mouth.
Still Waters
7. Still Waters
January 7, 2016
In 2002, a speed boat rams a fishing boat with three teens on it. When one of victims dies from his injuries, two Texas Game Wardens become unlikely homicide investigators in a case spanning eight years.
The Inside Man
6. The Inside Man
December 10, 2015
A popular bartender at a neighborhood pub in Florida is killed in a late-night burglary gone wrong, and it takes investigators almost two decades to catch the culprit and turn his own lies against him.
Into The Woods
5. Into The Woods
December 3, 2015
After two young men disappear on a hunting trip, investigators uncover the dark truth about what happened to them and who was responsible.
Rendezvous With Death
4. Rendezvous With Death
November 30, 2015
When a Florida man is found dead from a vicious attack, the hot pursuit of a man seen fleeing the scene comes up short. Nearly twenty years later, a fresh look at old evidence helps cold case investigators put a name to the killer.
Grain Of Truth
3. Grain Of Truth
November 19, 2015
In police stations everywhere, there is a library of binders containing detailed information about gruesome murders. Each of them contains the spirit of their victim waiting for the day that someone will finally catch their killer.
Key To Murder
2. Key To Murder
November 12, 2015
A Jonesville, NC policeman is found dead on the side of the road after pursuing a suspicious vehicle out of town. Years after the trail for his killer goes cold, a veteran investigator is pulled out of retirement to close the fallen officer's case.
Flower Drum Murder
1. Flower Drum Murder
November 5, 2015
A steel drum is unearthed with the remains of a young pregnant woman inside. With some old-fashioned sleuthing, investigators are able to identify their victim, bring a cowardly killer to justice, and close the book on a decades-old mystery.
Where to Watch Murder Book
Murder Book is available for streaming on the Investigation Discovery website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch Murder Book on demand at Amazon Prime and Google Play.
  • Premiere Date
    December 2, 2014
  • IMDB Rating
    8.2  (205)