The Secret Circle

Watch The Secret Circle

  • TV-14
  • 2011
  • 1 Season
  • 7.3  (48,632)

The Secret Circle is a teen drama/fantasy television series that aired on the CW. It is based on a series of novels by L.J. Smith. It ran during 2011, but was cancelled by the network, despite relatively high ratings. The first and only season is a full 22 episodes, each of which involves minimal to heavy special effects.

The series revolves around a teenage girl named Cassie Blake. At the start of the series, she had just moved to Chance Harbor, Washington, following the death of her mother. When she arrives in Chance Harbor, she discovers that she is a witch that has a myriad of connections with several other magical teens in town. Over time, she learns that all of their parents, most of which are deceased, were part of a circle -- a type of coven. Eventually, Cassie and the other teens like her form a circle of their own.

The drama at the start of The Secret Circle involves Cassie finding out she is a witch and trying to fit in with the other witches in the circle. It also centers around two members of the former circle, who are doing everything they can to get their power back, even hurting their children's friends. In fact, one appears to be behind the death of Cassie's mother.

As the series wears on, romances are made and destroyed, people and monsters are murdered and vanquished and Cassie learns she has dark magic. Her father was a bad witch who many of the magic folk in town believe was responsible for the deaths of the previous circle, of which he was a member. Cassie gets her dark magic from him and is faced with the choice of using it and potentially becoming evil herself on several occasions.

The end of The Secret Circle is a cliffhanger that will not be resolved unless the series is started again. Cassie has learned that she is not the only child of her evil father and that even one of her friends has dark magic from him. The real twist comes at the very end, though. Unbeknownst to Cassie and her circle, four other Balcoin (bad witches) have just arrived in Chance Harbor and they may also be Cassie's siblings and children of her demented father. Then, the series just ends.

The Secret Circle is a series that is currently running and has 1 seasons (22 episodes). The series first aired on September 15, 2011.

The Secret Circle
Filter by Source

22. Family
May 10, 2012
In the first season finale, Cassie and Diana release their dark magic, Charles and Dawn get the chance to to restore their powers and Faye fights for her life.
21. Prom
May 3, 2012
Adam, Diana, Cassie and Melissa go to Prom, but when they lose a crystal to Eben, their lives are in danger.
20. Traitor
April 26, 2012
When a crystal is magically stolen from the abandoned house, the Circle determines a traitor witch working with Eben must be responsible. Jake calls for a meeting with Isaac to see if they can get him to change sides.
19. Crystal
April 19, 2012
To protect themselves from the witch hunters, Jake, Cassie and Faye search for Jake's grandfather Royce for the family's crystal. Meanwhile, Diana tries to balance her pursuit of the Glaser crystal with Melissa and Adam with her romantic life with Grant, who demands to know what she's not telling him. At the same time, Callum attempts to re-insert himself into Melissa's life. Charles and Jane plot their move against Blackwell.
18. Sacrifice
March 29, 2012
Jake is shocked when a previous acquaintance named Samuel, a witch hunter, has a message for Blackwell about Eben's surprising next move. Meanwhile, Diana believes that keeping secrets is building a barrier between her and Grant.
17. Curse
March 22, 2012
Cassie and Adam's love for each other may be a curse.
16. Lucky
March 15, 2012
Cassie catches Blackwell sneaking around the abandoned house; Faye shows up at Lee's house to invite him to the school fundraiser, but is surprised to be greeted by Eva; Melissa encourages Diana to date a new, handsome guy in town.
15. Return
February 16, 2012
Cassie is shocked when an evil person from her past shows up.
14. Valentine
February 9, 2012
The girls have a girls only anti-Valentine's Day Party.
13. Medallion
February 2, 2012
Cassie needs the circle's help when she learns the witch hunters may return.
12. Witness
January 19, 2012
Jake returns to town to warn Cassie that she will meet the same fate as her father if they do not find out the reason for his death. Meanwhile, Faye gets trapped in a dangerous situation when one of Lee's friends visits the shop.
11. Fire/Ice
January 12, 2012
Cassie wants to look into her father's past and goes to Adam for help.
10. Darkness
January 5, 2012
Cassie discovers a secret about herself that she keeps from the circle.
9. Balcoin
November 10, 2011
Cassie and Jake investigate her father's side of the family in hopes of finding out why she has powers seperate from the Circle.
8. Beneath
November 3, 2011
Cassie hasn't heard from her grandmother in a couple days and becomes concerned, so she decides to look for her. Diana thinks the whole circle should go in case Jane is in trouble.
7. Masked
October 27, 2011
Faye talks Cassie into throwing a big Halloween party. Faye goes all out on her Halloween costume in hopes of wooing Jake. Following an argument with Diana, Adam seeks advice from Cassie.
6. Wake
October 20, 2011
Jake realizes a lot has changed since he last came to Chance Harbor. The girl he left behind is a witch and is seeking revenge.
5. Slither
October 13, 2011
Cassie struggles with the secrets she must keep from her grandma and balancing her loyalties to the Circle and her family. Nick doesn't know what to do when Melissa has a new attitude and asks him to help her find her family's Book of Shadows.
4. Heather
October 6, 2011
Cassie looks up an old friend of her mother's named Heather Barnes and discovers she has been in a catatonic state since the night of the fire 16 years ago. She feels guilty that her mother and her Circle may have been responsible for Heather's current state. Cassie seeks Diana's help, but Diana refuses. However, Faye is more than willing to conjure up a spell, for a price.
3. Loner
September 29, 2011
Cassie accepts the invitation to the school dance by an athlete named Luke. Melissa uses the dance to her advantage as an opportunity to get closer to Nick. Meanwhile, Faye decides to forgo the dance and focuses on discovering a way to control her powers.
2. Bound
September 22, 2011
Cassie attempts to distance herself from the Circle to establish a normal teenage life and befriends Sally Matthews, a non-witch. Diana is concerned their powers are getting out of control and pushes everyone to bind the circle, but Fay refuses.
1. Pilot
September 15, 2011
Following the mysterious death of her mother, Cassie Blake is forced to move to Chance Harbor, Washington to live with her grandmother. Cassie quickly learns about her past and the truth - she is a witch and so are her friends. With her arrival, the Secret Circle will now be complete.
Where to Watch The Secret Circle
The Secret Circle is available for streaming on the The CW website, both individual episodes and full seasons. You can also watch The Secret Circle on demand at , The CW, Tubi TV and CW Seed.
  • Premiere Date
    September 15, 2011
  • IMDB Rating
    7.3  (48,632)